Rainbow paddle pop

I am so happy to be Guest Designer for this week’s CASology challenge!

Guest Designer Badge NewWeek 106 - Rainbow

 

And with a cue word  like ‘Rainbow’, who wouldn’t be! I was inspired in a snap! rainbow paddle pop

The Rainbow Paddle Pop! An Australian ice-confection icon! Ok, so that may be a bit of an overstatement, but you would be hard-pressed to find an Aussie kid who hadn’t tried one or several during their lifetime. They have stood the test of time, albeit minus the blue food colouring…!

 

Here is Raspberri Cupcake’s homage to the Rainbow Paddle Pop, albeit in fudge form – proof that Rainbow paddle pops inspire in many ways:

Source:

raspberri cupcake paddle pop fudge pic 1 raspberri cupcake paddle pop fudge pic 2

My take:

image

I tried my hand at masking and inking again. I made 3 stencils using post-it notes (ice-cream; popstick and drip), inked, then embossed with a pearly embossing powder. I was trying to replicate the creamy condensation on an ice-cream on a hot day. I also wanted to add some texture to what is otherwise a one-layer card.

For the pop stick, I made another mask out of post-its, using an actual pop-stick as a guide. I then stamped it with a woodgrain stamp and coloured over it with a Stampin’ Write marker to soften the lines. Finally, I stamped the sentiment.

image

Funny how a simple one-layer card uses all this:

image

I realised afterwards that the pic was missing the marker and the embossing powder. Can’t keep track of it all!

And that’s it. Hope it conjures up images of rainbows for you!

Happy crafting 🙂

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!)

Inks: Daffodil Delight; Island Indigo; Sahara Sand; Early Espresso; Strawberry Slush; Wisteria Wonder; Pistachio Pudding; Tangerine Tango; Versa-mark (all Stampin’ Up!)

Stamps: Bowtiful (Waffle Flower); Woodgrain (KaiserCraft)

Accessories: Heat tool; Embosssing Powder-Plum Pearls (Stamp-n’ Stuff); Acrylic blocks; So Saffron Stampin’ Write marker; paper rounder; post-it notes; pop-stick; paper snips; Sponges

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Rainbow paddle pop

  1. This is such an amazing card! Gorgeous inking, and the embossing powder really does give it a cold-but-melting-in-the-heat look. 😉 Love everything about it!

  2. This is super-sweet (pun intended!) Love the way you’ve made this! So great to have you as gd this week!

  3. Hazel..I JUST LOVE your fun ideas ad wonderful cards!!! This one is MAJOR WOW factor!!! FABULOUS!!!!!!! So happy -joy-joy- to have you as a guestie!!! -hoorah, Kimberly

  4. Hazel, this card is STILL making me swoon and I’ve been looking at it for quite a few days now! LOL!
    I wonder if your Paddle Pops are similar in popularity to our Popsicles here in the U.S? Secretly, I’m loving the looks of that fudge one… 🙂
    I’m so happy you were able to join us as guest designer for this week’s challenge at CASology! You knocked this one out of the park!!!

  5. Hazel, its perfect!!! You totally rocked your Guest Designer post with the Paddle Pop. They are even popular here in New Zealand (and have eaten several (hundred…) over the years) so I think your portrayal is excellent. What a brilliant idea to do the embossing over the ink, it really does give it that glassy/icy look. After this card I can imagine you will be asked back again and again.

  6. Hazel, your popsicle is amazing! I love how the embossing powder gives it that melty look and how there’s so much detail and texture on a one layer card. 🙂

  7. Hazel, this yummy popsicle looks good enough to eat! Love the rainbow colors…such a fun card! Great to have you as Guest Designer this week at CASology!

Leave a comment