Happy Father’s Day

Firstly, I have to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed reading what has inspired other CASology designers’ ‘stripes’ this week. I love context behind cards. I always end up seeing the card in an entirely different way!

Week 107 - Stripe

In saying that, however, I can’t offer much context to this week’s card, other than Father’s Day is fast approaching in Australia, and I decided to use this week’s cue word to get ahead. Having a sick household at present, it is virtually impossible to get a head start on anything…! I digress!

My first thought was literal – one stripe! (sorry Melissa, I had to do it! 😉 )

So here ’tis!

image

I just love this Island Indigo colour, so decided to ‘paint’ a stripe with it, using my  favourite masking and sponge-inking technique. (I know, I know, get a new gig! I have systematically masked/sponge-inked/hand-cut my own stencil for the past four entries, but we all have our favourite techniques, don’t we??) Prior to sponging, I stamped the sentiment in Versamark and heat-embossed in white.

I broke with tradition this week and actually used motifs and sentiment from the same stamp set! And to add to this breakthrough, everything used on this card is current! Not a vintage/retired  stamp in sight. Hold onto your hats folks!

I wanted just a spot of red this week, so the handle of the paintbrush got it, along with some gloss, to give it that ‘enamel paint’ look. Not sure if you can see it, but it adds dimension. Got the silver pigment ink out for the rustic bucket. I love how pigment ink can give you  gradients of colour, adding depth without even trying. Love it!

image

That’s it!

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White; Smoky Slate (SU); Versa-Mark

Ink: Island Indigo; Real Red (SU); Silver (ColorBox)

Stamp set: Hey Mr (Waffle Flower)

Accessories: White Embossing Powder; Crystal Effects; Heat tool (SU)

 

 

7 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

  1. LOVE this – this is exactly what CAS is all about! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  2. Hazel, why change a technique if its working for you and you enjoy it, right? I LOVE this stripe of paint, a perfect Father’s Day card if you ask me! (My husband just finished paiting my son’s room so this is right up our alley!) Thanks for joining us again at CASology!

  3. That’s one very creative stripe, though, Hazel! 🙂 I’ll excuse you just for sheer creativity! LOL! Honestly, this card of yours is absolutely fantastic!!! Love that little pop of red!
    Thank you so much for joining us over at CASology! Keep on masking and sponging…we certainly don’t mind one bit! 🙂

  4. Yeah Hazel you rock girl.how many times your card being HM om casology..you always have brilliant idea..I wish I can do too..great Idea for manly card dear Hazel…congrats dear Hazel…see you soon maybe on my blog…hugs..Monika R

Leave a Reply

