Celebrate!

It’s CASology’s 100th Challenge Anniversary, which is cause for great celebration, hence the cue word:

Week 100 - Celebrate

It’s  a FANTASTIC challenge with an awesome design team, and if you haven’t tried it yet, you MUST!

The cue word inspired thoughts of stars and sparkles and bright colours, so my ‘white’ space is bright pink this week, smattered with a constellation of sparkly stars! I went with this really simple card!

image

image

This was my first attempt with sparkly embossing powder, which was a bit of a challenge in itself – glitter, here, there and everywhere, and some of it occasionally landed on the embossed image! :-). I found it useful to brush away excess glitter with a paintbrush after heat embossing. I liked the extra sparkle it left on the stars, so I am glad I persisted.  It doesn’t convey as well on camera, but it sparkles beautifully in natural light (truly!)

I am also entering it into Waffle Flower’s June/July Challenge for my random star stamping:

Waffle-Flower-Challenge-Technique-2014-06

As always, thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Melon Mambo & Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!); Vellum;

Stamp: Bowtiful stampset (Waffle Flower)

Ink: Versa-Mark; Silver Detail Embossing Powder & White Silver Sparkle Embossing Powder (All Night Media); Melon Mambo (Stampin’ Up!)

Adhesive: Self adhesive foam sheet

Accessories: Heat tool

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Celebrate!

  1. Such a bright and fun card. Love how you did the sentiment focal point, and those stars, of course. Thanks so much for playing along at CASology this month and for helping us celebrate 100 challenges.

  2. Hi Hazel…I think you are now a queen at HM on CASology challenge..yaaay congrats on your HM you deserve it and your card is not with white paper but clever to interpretation the cue card…yeah…you are a clever card maker..wish I can be a clever like you..big hugs…Monika

  3. Pretty card!! Love the star background and the vellum!!Thanks for playing along with Waffle Flower Challlenge #1!!!

  4. Love all the silver and gorgeous stamping of the stars! I love that you used a vellum mat for the sentiment too. Thanks for playing along with the Waffle Flower Challenge!

  5. ohhhh!! I love the pop of the stars against the pink!!! And the vellum is just the right touch for the sentiment!! Love it!! Thanks for playing along with us at the Waffle Flower Challenge!!!

Leave a comment