Celebrating with ‘bowtiflies’

My card today was inspired by  Scrapbook Boutique‘s June Challenge,  Sketch#80 from CTS!  and Waffle Flower’s June/July Challenge. Aren’t those butterflies poised to perfection on those gorgeously iced cupcakes?

scrapbook boutique june challenge       CTS_Sketch_80Waffle-Flower-Challenge-Technique-2014-06

 

My take:

image

I loved the blue, white, silver and subtle use of glitter in the inspiration photo, while the butterflies  made me think of bows.

image

I incorporated some subtle sparkle in my bows, using some Crystal Effects, to which I sprinkled Dazzling Diamonds glitter, while it was still wet. I like how they turned out!  Not sure the photo really does them justice.

I also enjoyed including some embossing, vellum, bling and heat-embossed silver ink to give it a sense of occasion. More layers than usual for me!

The sparkly star background was a late addition. While I am usually very CAS, the stars kept looking at me from Waffle Flower’s gorgeous  Bowtiful stamp-set, so I relented, and used them to make a background. I love the fun and movement they bring to the card!

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White & Basic Gray (Stampin’ Up!); Vellum

Ink: Versamark (Tsukineko); Stazon Black  (Tsukineko); Silver Embossing Powder (Starfish Lane); Bashful Blue (Stampin’ Up!); Silver (Colourbox Pigment Stamp Pad)

Stampset: Bowtiful (Waffle Flower); Bowtiful Die (Waffle Flower)

Punch: Scalloped Tag Topper (Stampin’ Up!)

Accessories: Big Shot & Textured Impressions Stripes Embossing Folder (Stampin’ Up!)

Adhesive: Dimensionals (Stampin’ Up!)

Embellishments: Rhinestones (Stampin’ Up!); Baker’s Twine (Primio – American Crafts); Crystal Effects; Dazzlin’ Diamonds Glitter (Stampin’ Up!)

4 thoughts on “Celebrating with ‘bowtiflies’

  1. Beautiful card!!! Love the elegant color combo.Thanks for playing along with Waffle Flower Challlenge #1!!!

  2. What a pretty card! I love all the stars on the background and love that soft blue color you used for the bows! Thanks for playing along with the Waffle Flower Challenge!

  3. Oh my!! I LOVE the little bow ‘butterflies’!!! They look great with the star background!! Thanks for playing along with us at the Waffle Flower Challenge!!!

Leave a Reply

