CASology #209: WATER COLOUR

Welcome back to another week at CASology! We have a very  popular cue for you this week!

IMG_0729

With the exception of some ‘drying time’, this was a quick and easy card to make! Heat guns are great at speeding up the process, but with watercolours, I prefer to let time work its magic.  I simply applied washes of watercolour to some watercolour cardstock. I used a range of purples, pinks, oranges and yellows on the page,and allowed the colours to mingle. Once dry, I stamped and heat-embossed this very pretty hibiscus onto the cardstock, and then fussy-cut it out. This is a super quick way to ‘watercolour’ several flowers at once. Just stamp your outline image onto an area of watercoloured cardstock  that has your preferred colour combo, and die-cut/fussy cut it out!

My hibiscus was then added to some regular cardstock. To keep the flower as the focal point, I left the leaves uncoloured. To add interest, I scallop-edged the bottom of the card and inlaid a pierced circle in the centre. LOTS of white space!

After visiting the rest of the DT, I hope you will be inspired to join us:

Ardyth Percy-Robb

Deidre Payne

Hannelie Bester

Hazel Hodgkins

Jacquie Southas

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kymona Tracey

Melissa Chipperfield

Sherrie Mannion

Tracey McNeely

Guest Designer: Anita

Thanks for visiting!

I would also like to add this card to the following Challenges:

Simon Says Wednesday Challenge: Anything Goes

  

Materials used:

16 thoughts on “CASology #209: WATER COLOUR

  1. Beautiful watercoloring, and I really love your gold embossing on this card, Hazel! So elegant!

  2. Stunning! Love that Uniko hibiscus bloom and it looks perfect embossed and then coloured in pink. Thanks for playing at Uniko and AAA Cards.

  3. Oh… this is just lovely, Hazel! I adore the CAS design and use of flower image! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Anything Goes” Challenge! Fabulous colors and design. Well done!

  4. This is so elegant. Love the stitching details & scalloped edge and the crisp embossed outlines are so delicate with your tropically coloured bloom x

  5. Gorgeous card, Hazel. I love that touch of scalloped border. You are really good at adding these tiny touches and details to the card, which truly take a card from being good to excellent. I feel inspired by your card designs.

  6. WOW! Love the simplicity and elegance of your card. Stunning use of the Hibiscus flower and the pink, gold and white combo defo a fave. Thanks so much for joining in on the Uniko Challenge and my apologies for my delay in commenting. Hugs Bev x

Leave a comment