CASology #208: JOURNEY

Hello! It’s CASology time again! Where will the cue word take you this week?

Life, like card-making, is a bit of a journey. Sometimes, opportunities arise and we can either ‘take the plunge’ and try something new (and perhaps a little out of our comfort zone!), or we can continue along our comfortable, well-tread path.

I ‘took the plunge’ and tried a little mixed media on this card: water-colour, inking, embossing, stamping and paper-piecing:

 I used Stazon black ink to stamp my image onto some water-colour cardstock. The water-colouring was done in three stages, allowing for drying between each stage. First, I masked off the bottom-third of the cardstock to paint the water. Second, I coloured the grassy bank using water-coloured pencils. Third,  I coloured the swimmer’s arms, legs and face – again, in water-colour pencils. The horizon and swimmer were then masked off so that I could ink the sunrise in yellow and orange inks.

Then it was time for paper-piecing: I found a beautiful scrap of red floral japanese paper in my stash to use for the bathing suit. Given that the original stamp has the swimmer wearing a solid colour bathing costume, I needed to do the paper-piecing in two steps. First, I stamped the image onto some scrap paper, fussy cut it out to create a template, then traced the outline of the template onto my japanese paper. I then fussy-cut the bathers and cap from the japanese paper and glued it into position.

Finally, the sentiment was stamped onto some scrap cardstock, heat-embossed in gold, then fussy cut and stuck into position, using foam dots.

Where’s our cue going to take you this week?  Visit the DT for more inspiration:

Thanks for visiting!

-Hazel-

I would also like to add this card to the following Challenge:

Just Add Ink #321: Just Add…Paper-Piecing

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Watercolour cardstock 300gsm (Eraldo di Paolo); Japanese Floral Paper (stash)
  • Ink: Stazon Black; Versa-Mark; Pumpkin Pie; Daffodil Delight (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Stamp: Rubber Dance StampsTake the Plunge
  • Other: Watercolour Pencils (Faber Castell); Watercolour Paint box (page of London); Gold EP (Stampin’ Up!)

 

17 thoughts on “CASology #208: JOURNEY

  1. Hazel, you really did take the plunge…so many cool techniques in one card, and what an amazing result! I really love this card, it has a cool retro feel to it and reminds me of my mom when she was a young lady (I’ve seen pics of her and her friends in swim suits and bathing caps just like this!). Very cool card!

  2. Hazel I LOVE this design whatb a perfect card! That stamp looks amazing and I love your sentiment! Awesome plunge!!!!!!

  3. You did an amazing job combining mediums and techniques on this card, Hazel! Love your paper piecing on the swim suit, and how she’s displaying your sentiment like a ‘beach sign’! Awesome CAS card, as always!

  4. Haze I adore your bathing suit, and of course this little vintage stamp! What a fabulous paper-piece-r you are!!! xx OH LOve the texture of this paper! xo
    =]

  5. Beautiful card, Hazel! I love your take on the CASology challenge theme this week. We do need to take the plunge from time to time, on our journey through life… as well as in card-making 🙂 Love it! Thank you so much for using my stamps on your gorgeous card and linking to my store. It’s really fun to be part of the CASology challenge once more! ♥

  6. Hazel, this is fab, l love the swim suit paper pieced and the sentiment is perfect! Thanks for sharing at Just Add Ink.

  7. Was just about to email you and tell you to link to the JAI challenge, so glad you did, its perfect!! The paper you used for the paper piecing is stunning and goes so perfectly with the scene (she looks so stylish!) and your colouring of the water and beach is brilliant. Such a cool card Haze!!!!

  8. Fabulous card – I love the colouring and how you have created the water – great use of paper and lovely image. Chantell JAI

  9. Haze, this is such a beauty! Your watercoloring is gorgeous and that bathing suit is truly inspired – such perfect paper!

Leave a Reply

