CASology Week #159: Aquatic

Hello again!

Making a splash with this week’s CASology cue:

So many ways you can go with this! With the World Swimming Championships on at the moment, I thought of swimming pools, then floaties and rubber duckies, but had nothing in my stash to make a card, so I went in search of the perfect digital image, and I found it:

image

Isn’t she cute? No floaties, no swimming pools, but a favourite aquatic activity all the same!

And the inside reads:

image

I really think her face says it all! Look at her eyes. That’s pure bliss right there!

image

There is something truly indulgent about having a long, relaxing bath! Been a while since I’ve done that! Would have to compete with all the kids’ bath toys…not quite the same!

So, for the card, I coloured the image using Derwent water-colour pencils and a wet brush. The bubbles got a bit of glitter treatment to make them sparkle, and her eyelids needed some Wink of Stella. After I’d finished with all the colouring, I die-cut the card into a ‘bubble’ for a bit of fun, and added a circular frame in a blissful yellow.

We are very fortunate to have Uniko Studio  sponsoring our Challenge this week, so don’t forget to check the CASology blog for more details, and the rest of the Design Team for some awesome aquatic inspiration:

Thanks for visiting and see you in the Gallery!

-Hazel-

 Materials used:

  • Cardstock: White; Daffodil Delight (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Digital image: From the Heart Stamps – Birdbath Chick
  • Other: Derwent Water-colour pencils, Two-way glue pen, Dazzling Diamonds glitter (Stampin’ Up!); WInk of Stella (Zig), Cookie Cutter Nesting Circles dies.

8 thoughts on “CASology Week #159: Aquatic

  1. Ha ha! This is a brilliant take on the cue word! Love the touch of sparkle and the clever bubble shape. I am jealous of how relaxed she looks. 🙂 Bubble baths are rare luxury here – well, baths in general given how careful we have to be with water. Whenever I go away on vacation I take a bath every night!

  2. Oh stop it, this is too darn cute!! It reminds me of bath tub races I’ve seen in American movies. He looks so relaxed…. I have to say that I’m not a bath person, I’m a shower ‘get in, get out quick’ person because half the time I have the dog waiting for me on the bath mat, the cat meowing from the sink and the kids asking me to do things while I’m in there. No rest for the wicked……

  3. This is just darling. Love your little image and how you colored it. I am not much of a ‘bath girl’ myself, but I do love the though of relaxing in all those bubbles.

  4. Totally adorable, I need to relax like this!!!! I LOVE that you did a shaped card!!!!!
    HUGS to you Hazel!

Leave a comment