Iced snowflake {biscuits}

I had a few Challenges going through my head when I came up with this card. I have really been inspired by the neutral-based Christmas Challenges doing the rounds. I just love white on kraft, and any opportunity to use it, I will.

CASology‘s cue word of ‘snow’ was still in the forefront of my mind. CAS on Sundays had a Christmas theme. The images from  Simon Says Stamp-Winter Inspiration. were still beckoning, particularly the snowflake and mittens holding the pine-cone.

icy-moodboard-sss

And then I saw this beautiful image from Just Add Ink which I discovered on Shona‘s blog.  The neutral palette, wood accents and snowflakes sitting on the bookshelf caught my attention.

JAI 245

So, with all of this inspiration, what went through my mind? Iced biscuits. More precisely, thin, crisp shortbread snowflake biscuits. The ones decorated with a thin layer of white chocolate or royal icing. I sampled (part of) one at a family Christmas picnic a couple of weeks ago, and it was delicious. My sons thought so too, hence me only getting the point that had broken off in the bottom of the paper bag.

Here’s my take, also inspired by this beautiful picture of the real thing (located at the Simply Social blog, from this post). I would love to bake these biscuits!

image

I haven’t had a chance to bake any this year. Hope you have!

Thanks for visiting!

Hazel

Materials used:

Cardstock: Crumb Cake (Stampin’ Up!)

Ink: Brilliance-Moonlight White (Tsukineko)

Stencil: Snowflake 634-04 (PnA Craft)

Embellishments: Candy dots-neutral (Stampin’ Up!); Chipboard alphabet (Merci Collections)

 

11 thoughts on “Iced snowflake {biscuits}

  1. Hi Hazel, this is a lovely CAS card! I love the use of Scrabble piece chipboard and snowflake! Well done! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Winter Inspiration” Challenge! Hope you are enjoying the Christmas season!

  2. A perfect CAS, Hazel!!! Love the trio of varying sized snowflakes and Scrabble tiles are always good in my book! 😉
    Thanks so much for joining us over at CASology again!!! 🙂

  3. The white snowflakes on the kraft is just delightful Hazel. I love the simple impact – so beautiful and the scrabble sentiment adds such a fun touch. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

  4. Yay, I have just read that you are joining the CASology team – huge congrats! Looking forward to enjoying your CAS creations over 2015. I hope you have been enjoying a wonderful Christmas 🙂

  5. you always being a winner or HM at CASology you are queen of CAS Hazel and this is no exception this is adorable as it is…I love your color combo so calm down and congrats on being HM this time my card is beside yours as HM yippiiee so proud of me being there with you..hugs, Monika

    PS: hope you like to visiting me back Hazel it always a happiness to get your encouragement…

Leave a comment