Honey, I Shrunk the Kit # 13 – All things Summer!

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo.jpg
Hello! Long time, no see! 🙂

It seems like ages since my last card post. Life has certainly kept me busy in a range of new endeavours.

I am thrilled to be here however with a favourite distraction:  Honey, I Shrunk the Kit!

The lovely Anita is this month’s host, and she has put together an AMAZING kit, choc full of summery goodness! If you want to see exactly what Anita put into this kit, visit the HISTK! supplies tab located here.
No automatic alt text available.

Working with these colours and elements have felt like a balmy breeze. A fun way to herald the start of Spring here in the Southern hemisphere! 😉

So, here is how I put this fab kit to use:

So, I dedicate the first card to Anita, because she is flippin’ fabulous. I used quite a few of the kit elements in this card alone. The fussy-cut crab is coloured using water-coloured pencils. I hand-cut some ‘rays’ out of those beautiful summery sheets of the double-sided coloured cardstock, and found a semi-circle yellow ‘sun’ in my scrap pile. I then assembled the card with the die-cut waves and fun sentiment.

I decided that I deeply adored that floral patterned paper, and it seems that 3 out of the 5 cards features it in some shape or other.  First up is my ‘flamingo floral’ card, set on a die-cut patterned oval, and surrounded with a glittery gold frame to emulate a warm summer sunset.

It so happened that I had enough of the floral paper to tuck behind the negative space of a butterfly, and team it with Anita’s pretty ribbon and apt sentiment to create a summery butterfly card.

My ‘Hello Hibiscus’ card features the die-cut hibiscus from the kit, sponged lightly with three different shades of pink. The stamen has been sponged in yellow and had its ends tipped in a soft peach. The flower was then attached to the pastel pink side of the coloured cardstock, and had two of the thinnest strips of floral patterned paper tucked behind it.

Finally, my ice-cream card came together very quickly. I scalloped the edge of a piece of pink cardstock and tucked it behind the ice-cream patterned paper.  I then die-cut the sentiment using part of a pierced circle die, then fussy cut the ice-cream elements and overlaid them diagonally across the front of the card. Three little blots of bling, and it was done!

I would be very surprised if the girls didn’t have as much fun as I did making cards from this wonderful kit. A massive thank-you to Anita for her generous and inspiring kit! I am looking forward to visiting the rest of the Honeys to see how they fared.

Sarah Gray (Funky Fossil Designs)

Shona Chambers (Twine Around)

Sarah Platt (Sazzle Dazzle Crafts)

Anita Bowden (Neet & Crafty)

Thanks so much for visiting!

-Hazel-

5 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit # 13 – All things Summer!

  1. Fantastic creations Hazel and I can see how much you loved the floral design paper. So clever to make it work on many cards. Your crab card is awesome and you must have spent ages painstakingly creating those sunny rays from cardstock but so worth it in the end – I’m with you Anita is Flippin Fabulous! I had to do a double take at your ice cream card as we’ve both gone with the same sentiment and ‘similar’ layout … great minds eh! I like yours better though. Brilliant CAS takes with the kit and now I’m dreading putting mine together! LOL x

  2. YOU are flippin’ fabulous! Hazel you do the most amazing things with floral papers, oh yes!
    Gorgeous kit, gorgeous cards… and I cannot tell you how happy I was to see this post in my email box… xxoo
    =]

  3. I’m here, I’m here! So sorry I’m a bit late, had mum staying with me this weekend so it’s been a bit hectic.
    I’m blushing at your kind words, I went a bit crazy with this kit but so glad you loved it and what fabulous makes! Your sun rays from the coloured card is such a terrific idea and I love the texture of your watercolour pencilled crab, isn’t he fantastic! I love how your floral paper took centre stage and you left your die cuts white, and the gold frame set it off beautifully. I love the white space on your butterfly and hibiscus cards, that small amount of the floral paper really gives them a light summery feel. And the circular sentiment nestled in the corner of your ice cream card is a wonderful design, must remember that one. Love this post and love that you loved the kit 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

