Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #11

 

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

Hello! I am excited to announce that Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! time has come round again, and this month, Shona is our ‘hostess with the most-ess’!

Sho gets the prize for fitting the maximum amount of cuteness in one Kit, don’t you agree?

IMG_1302

The full kit contents can be found under the ‘Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! Supplies tab on my homepage.

I don’t think I have ever spent as much time colouring, fussy cutting and positioning elements on a card.. In fact, this must be my most ‘layered’ collection of cards ever! Love how these kits stretch my creativity!

Time only permitted the creation of four cards this month, but I take solace in the fact that I had a complete blast making them AND I have some lovely leftovers to create some more cards later.  Shona sent us a very generous kit!!

So, here goes:

Card#1:

IMG_1288

To create the background, I stamped and heat-embossed stars of different sizes onto a piece of Sahara Sand cardstock. I then sponged it in brown to add some dimension. A die-cut snowhill stamped with the sentiment finished the background.  Then it was time to add the elements! I used my coloured pencils to add colour to the trees and this cute little yeti, before fussy cutting them all and adhering them to my cardfront.  To finish off, I ‘decorated’ the focal pine tree with rhinestones.

Additional non-kit supplies are as follows:

Card #2:

IMG_1290

Mr Yeti featured again in my second card, along with this awesome big hugs die-cut! I thought a crazy double stitched border suited the theme of this tangled yeti attempting to give someone a big hug!  I sponged the background cardstock and bottom edge of the hugs die-cut in Crisp Cantaloupe to add a bit of depth and dimension. I also added the Christmas sentiment, as this Yeti is offering big ‘Christmas’ hugs!  I added coloured spotty paper and candy dots to reflect the Christmas lights theme. Yeti has been coloured in pencils.

Non-kit supplies used:

  • Coloured cardstock: Stampin’ Up!-Crisp Cantaloupe; Birthday Basics DSP
  • Stamp: Uniko Studio – ‘Christmas’ sentiment from ‘Poinsettia’ stamp (retired)
  • Die: CUTplorations – Crazy Double Running Stitch Nesting Dies
  • Other: Stampin’ Up! Candy dots
Card #3:

IMG_1287

I loved the idea of a comic strip for this one, and created a scene where the kitty got what he ‘kneaded’ (wink wink!). Disclaimer: no fish were harmed in the making of this card!

As luck had it, I found a piece of green patterned paper that fitted perfectly behind the frames. Bonus!

Non-kit supplies:

  • Coloured cardstock: Stampin’ Up! -Garden Green; green floral DSP (my stash)
Card #4:

IMG_1286

Lots of layers in this card, starting with a stitched curved water-coloured panel,  some patterned paper waves and some cheeky otters! The water-colour panel was from the kit, and I thought the shape perfect to use with these little guys! I water-coloured it in yellows and oranges  to create a sky. I then applied the die-cut waves and cut along the base edge to fit the curve of the panel. The otters were coloured, fussy-cut and tucked into the waves!

Non-kit supplies:

  • Die: Clearly Besotted Wave Edge die (retired)
  • Patterned paper: (untitled – my stash)

I can’t wait to visit my fellow Honeys to see what they have created. I hope you get the chance to pop by their blogs too!

Sarah Gray (Funky Fossil Designs)

Shona Chambers (Twine Around)

Sarah Platt (Sazzle Dazzle Crafts)

Anita Bowden (Neet & Crafty)

It is with some sadness that we had to say goodbye to the lovely Sandie. While we are sad to see her go, we  are excited to see that this little card club sparked the idea for her and Nonni to create the perfect craft kit club closer to home!  Go ladies! Sandiewill always be an honorary  Honey! 😉

And that’s it from me!

Thanks so much for visiting, and Sho, thank you so much for a wonderful, wonderful kit! It is my turn next, so the pressure is well and truly on!

Hugs!

Hazel

-xx-

 

3 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #11

  1. Your colouring is absolutely FAB-ulous Hazel and so much depth, shading and definition. I’m in awe! Each of these is a total beauty yet still brilliantly CAS. It’s good to get out of your comfort zone now and again and these have all got the WOW factor. I certainly can’t pick a favourite! Looking forward to the next honey outing! Hugs xx

  2. Oh My Goodness, you totally rocked the kit!! And I love that you have so many leftovers too to play around with. Your Yeti on the first card is coloured so perfectly with pencils and I love the rhinestones on the tree. So clever! On your second card that spotty background paper goes so perfectly with the cantaloupe colour and love you turned the Yeti into a Christmas hug. Love that bright green on your third card and your cat looks so cheeky with his fish dinner. The green patterned background paper is brilliant. And the way you used the Studio Katia die-cut is such a cool idea for a sky. The otters look so happy and you coloured them to life. I’m so glad you enjoyed the kit and I’m off now to be amazed by the other Honeys. xxxx

Leave a Reply

