CASology #241: MELT

No Winter lasts forever, no Spring skips its turn

While I know this beautiful quote refers to life’s ‘seasons’, I  couldn’t help thinking about my Northern Hemisphere friends with this week’s cue, patiently waiting for Spring’s thaw to finally take hold.

In stark contrast, the end of our extraordinarily hot summer has had us reveling in the cooler evenings and gentler, soothing warmth of Autumn days…

Enough of my musings – I was also thinking it timely to add to my Christmas stash. Never too early to start… ;-).

I had several sources of inspiration for this week’s card. The layout was inspired by Jennifer McGuire’s elegant cards here  and the envelope stamping was inspired by last week’s gorgeous CASology winning entry! I am sure you will agree that Melissa’s  card and envelope combo are a CAS knockout!

So, here it is:

IMG_1238

I chose a simple layout that allowed me to silver-emboss some tumbling snowflakes and delicately sponge some blue ‘ice’ along the open edge of the card. I wanted to give the sentiment a bit of prominence without dominating the overall appearance, so framed it in white. A sneaky way to maintain ‘white space’ but still add a bit of something extra!    As I don’t own nesting frame dies, I improvised by applying two stitched rectangular nesting mats to a scrap of white cardstock and die-cutting a rectangle in my preferred size. Once the frame was glued in place, I added a smattering of gems and  the card was complete!

 

Hope that you can find the time to join us this week. We are very  lucky to have Shery from STAMPlorations sponsor this week’s Challenge, so pop by the CASology blog for more details.

As usual, the CASology Design Team have created a range of CAS beauties to inspire you:

Deidre Payne

Hannelie Bester

Hazel Hodgkins

Jacquie Southas

Janet Ribet

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kymona Tracey

Melissa Chipperfield

Rachel Bergfeld

Sherrie Mannion

Sponsor:

Thanks for visiting!

-Hazel-

I would also like to link this card to:

Christmas Card Challenge #8

 

Materials used:

 

 

 

 

One thought on “CASology #241: MELT

Leave a Reply

