Honey, I Shrunk the Kit #8: Monster Madness

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

Yay!! It’s Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! time again, and for anyone new to this, or interested in how it originated, please read this post.

The gloriously talented Sarah Platt  is our host this month, and has compiled an out of this world little kit called ‘Monster Madness’!

Check it out:

img_0846

So full of cosmic colour and fun! Sadly, the first kit Sarah sent me may have been abducted by aliens, as it never arrived. 😦 Sarah kindly sent me another kit, which arrived doubly fast, and was put into immediate action. So, here goes:

Card #1:
img_0839

The space backdrop  was created by drawing dots on the black cardstock with my white gel pen. The little aliens have been coloured with alcohol markers; the cratered planet has been inked and water-splattered, and the party hats, inspired by Laura Bassen’s card, are from Gerda Steiner’s How Are Ewe? stamp set – a party ain’t a party without a party hat! Now where are the balloons… 

Card #2:
IMG_0843.JPG

I did something a little different for this space backdrop: I stamped star clusters from Gerda Steiner’s How Are Ewe? stamp set in Versa-mark, before applying clear EP and heat-setting it. I then inked the background in Wild Wisteria, Basic Grey & Night of Navy inks. The sweet little icons were coloured with alcohol markers before being fussy-cut, and applied with the trio of stitched frames. The sentiment was die-cut and inked in Daffodil Delight and Pumpkin pie, and popped up with dimensionals.

Card #3:
IMG_0838.JPG

How cool are these lashed googly eyes??? Couldn’t go past a love-sick googly  ghoul (or two), a row of hearts, and a big red satin bow! Sarah kindly gave us a few eyes to play with, so expect to see them again on another project.:-) The row of hearts die is from SU’s Everyday Jars Framelit Dies.

Card #4:
IMG_0841.JPG

Sarah sent the loveliest patterned paper – including this sheet covered in rows of candles. I adore the bright colours, so wanted to make the most of them! Lots of stitched scallops (Lawn Fawn’s Stiched Scallop Borders), some foam stars (CASual Fridays Stars Fri-dies)  and a big birhday wish (MFT Brushstroke Birthday Greetings)!

Card #5:
IMG_0845.JPG

This could have worked well as a shaker, but I was happy to keep the focus on the lovely  star patterned paper. I wanted some tone-on-tone stars to continue the theme beyond the navy frame, so I randomly stamped the star cluster (again, from Gerda’s How are Ewe? set) in versa-mark all over the front of the card. The sentiment is from a discontinued stamp set from Annabelle’s Stamps called Boy’s Party.

And, that’s it!

Now it’s time to visit my fellow ‘Honeys’ and see how they were inspired!

Sandie Munro

Shona Chambers

Sarah Gray

Sarah Platt

Thanks again for a fantastically fun kit, Sarah! I am so sorry (again) that the first kit is MIA! It has been such a blast to work with, and I am spoilt to still have some bits and bobs to use later. It is my turn to host next, so look out for the next installment of HISTK! due in early November…

Thanks so much for visiting!

-Hazel-

6 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit #8: Monster Madness

  1. Wow you were inspired. Love all those backgrounds and must remember the white gel pen idea. So may bright colours, such a great set of cards. Habe a fun hols x

  2. The designs that you have created with Sarah’s kit are literally ‘out of this world’! Love them, Hazel! That first card is so vibrant with the black background and your lovesick ghosts are so cute! I don’t know why I didn’t use the rocket looking at your fabulous design. Bright, bold and happy cards which work perfectly with the kit that Sarah put together 🙂

  3. What a fabulous collection of cards! Lots of yummy inking and gorgeous coloring on those first monsters. Those one eyed critters really make me giggle too. 😀

  4. Oh my word! Can’t believe this is the same kit Hazel! Sat here wowing each one! Totally inspirational vibrant and fabulous! Your white gelly pen stars are awesome and so many brilliant ideas! Love the loved up one…I always think kids when I use these sets but you’ve opened up a whole new world to me!!! Pity I couldn’t even remember what I’d called the kit!!! Do thrilled you enjoyed it! Sarah xx

  5. I’m so sorry this comment is so late, the bloody computer went kaput after my post went out and couldn’t leave comments on anything. All good now (touch wood) so have just been around everyone to leave them some love. What a fantastic job everyone did with the kit, it was so much fun to use and she included so much. I love all the colour against the black on your first card and the beautiful ribbon and red hearts are stunning. I really could have made another couple of cards, will save the bits for another day. It was another successful Honey kit and thankyou so much for getting this all started. Can’t wait to see what you have instore for us!! Mwah!

Leave a Reply

