Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #7: City Breaks

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

It’s Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! time again, and for anyone new to this, or interested in how it originated, please read this post.

The ever-so-fabulous Sandie is our host this month, compiling and sending us this delightful Kit, which she affectionately called ‘City Breaks’.

IMG_0623.JPG

Sandie put together a beautifully coordinated kit. She even went to the trouble of sourcing that gorgeous tube and metro patterned paper from a craft shop in Finland because it went with the kit. True dedication!!

For me, this kit conjured up  images of passports, suitcases, luggage tags and adventure! It also featured a couple of iconic cities that have long been on my bucket list to visit. I wanted my cards to reflect Sandie‘s carefully selected colour palette, but also a bit of  what I perceive to be Sandie’s personality: an ultra CAS-loving, passionate purple girl at heart!

Here is how I put her Kit to work:

IMG_0618

Card#1: I sponged one of the provided Eiffel towers in pink and orchid inks, and fashioned a tag from one of the provided sentiments. Three score lines grounded the image.

IMG_0617

Card#2: Went a bit ‘Moulin Rouge’ with this one. Sponged the other Eiffel Tower in the kit in black, and added it to the rectangular panel which I inked in a variety of sunset colours.  Discovered that the Eiffel Tower makes a useful pointer in this card!

IMG_0615

Card #3: And while we are still on the topic of silhouettes, here’s one entirely devoted to the sunset. I loved the graphic feel of this sweet city skyline, and thought it deserved an expansive sky!

IMG_0621.JPG

Card#4: This is one serious globe! I loved it in its rich caramel colour, and thought it paired nicely with a pearly cream square background. I couldn’t resist a pop of tangerine in one of the slim sentiment tags. ‘Enjoy’ is the word obscured by the white tag – just in case you’re wondering.

IMG_0613.JPG

Card#5: A bit of ‘London Love’, origami style! This metro paper folded beautifully! Everyone needs a bit of origami in their life – here’s the link for this fab origami heart.

 

Lucky last:

IMG_0626

Card #6: A little more love for London, and a few more grounding score lines.

Sandie – this was honestly an awesomely fun Kit to play with, and had me yearning to pack my bags and go travelling! Thank you for the adventure!

I’m now off to see how the other ‘Honeys’ were inspired…

Sandie Munro

Shona Chambers

Sarah Gray

Sarah Platt

Ciao for now!

-Hazel-

Materials used:

Kit contents: located under the HISTK! Supplies tab on my home page.

Additional supplies:

  • Cardstock: Whisper White, Basic Black, Crumb Cake (Stampin’ Up!); Cream Pearly Card (Lexile)
  • Inks: Orchid Opulence, Positively Pink, Wild Wisteria, Bliss Blue, Night of Navy, Daffodil Delight, Pumpkin Pie, Vers-Mark & White EP
  • Stamps: Tag on globe card: Life’s Adventure (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Dies: ‘love’ die – Open Book (Maggie Holmes)
  • Other: Stampin’ Scorer, Square Lattice EF (Stampin’ Up!), 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #7: City Breaks

  1. Wowzers! Hazel these are outstanding!!!! Love them all! YIKES think I should take mine down and start again! Love the neat CAS style on all of these which make the city elements pop perfectly. I’m literally swooning over the exotic inking on cards 2 and 3 plus. How clever that the Eiffel tower sits so perfectly pointing at Paris in the city names background. AND 6 cards! Origami too. ‘Love’ die cut word is awesome. Oh I need a lie down. Superbly done. Have a great day. Sarah xx

  2. wow I am so pleased you had fun with the kit, they are all amazing. Love the sponging, such gorgeous colours. Fab idea to use the score lines as grounding and that perfect origami with the DSP. I am so in awe you made these all so CAS. I went well out of my comfort zone- need to learn more ways to use different elements from you to make CAS cards xx

  3. These are fabulous cards, Hazel! Love the super CAS designs – the London bus and Eiffel tower cards are CAS perfection. The inky touches and perfect purples are also stunning. I am blown away by what you did with this kit – like Sarah P says, I think that I need a lie down 🙂

  4. EEEEEKKKKKK!!! I can’t believe you came up with so many absolutely incredible and creative ways to use the kit! I feel so bad that I wasn’t able to give it my full attention. Each and everyone of these is amazing and I love how you added the colour and detail. Your skyline card is stunning and that origami heart is genius. I’m seriously blown away!! Have just posted my cards which seem incredibly boring in comparison but so glad I can finally join in. xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

