CASology #195: Sprinkle

Hello, and welcome to another week at CASology!  

Our cue for the week can be interpreted in many ways:

While I had many, many ideas milling in my head, my thoughts kept returning to sprinkling rain drops and watering cans…

And then I came across this quote on Pinterest: “Why try to explain miracles to your kids when you can just have them plant a garden.” – Robert Brault.

With that, I came up with this card:

IMG_0560

My card has a similar layout to this one I created last year. Instead of hearts, I have used a sprinkling of sequins to draw the eye from one image to the other. This links the images, but also maintains white space. To give both images a bit of presence, I gently inked the areas behind them.

I think this is the first time I’ve used sequins on a card. If I’m going to make a habit of it though, I will need to invest in one of those Quick Stiks! A pair of cheap tweezers out of last year’s Christmas bon-bon can only take me so far…

Take a look at what the rest of the team has created for you:

Ardyth Percy-Robb

Deidre Payne

Hannelie Bester

Hazel Hodgkins – you are here!

Jacquie Southas

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kymona Tracey

Melissa Chipperfield

Sherrie Mannion

Tracey McNeely

Guest Designer Lisa

So, get a sprinkle on, and I’ll see you in the gallery!

I would also like to link this card to:

Just Add Ink #308…Just Add ‘M’ – in this case, it relates to ‘masking’ and ‘miracles’

 Taking a bit of poetic licence with my ‘rain’ (wink!)

I’ve flipped the sketch for the FUSION Challenge.

Thanks for visiting!

-Hazel-

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!); Vellum (my stash)
  • Ink: Bliss Blue; Pear Pizzazz, Forest Foliage, Daffodil Delight; Pumpkin Pie (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Stamps & Die: Garden Fresh (Clearly Besotted, sadly retired)
  • Embellishments-Sequins (my stash); Fine tip GluePen; Snail (Stampin’ Up!)
17 thoughts on “CASology #195: Sprinkle

  1. I love that you chose sequins for your sprinkles and your CAS design is fabulous, Hazel! I think you’ll like the Quick Stik, if you decide to get one…it makes everything so much easier 🙂

  2. Oh so very cute Hazel! I love your sequin filled watering can and the “droplets” falling onto your pretty garden are so fun and creative! Thanks for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week 🙂

  3. Such a sweet card Hazel. The sequins are a cute and creative addition. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink.

  4. What a darling design, Hazel! I’d love to know how you perfect clipped those sequins! I’m on the fence about the QuickStik – but have seen others use it with much finesse – it’s me, I’m sure of it! xx
    =]

  5. Love the little garden scene you created here. Very fun way to use sequins, and yes, I definitely recommend a pair of good crafting tweezers. I love mine from EK Success.

  6. Hazel, this is so amazing. How on earth did you trim the sequins in the watering can so perfectly? I am amazed by that! I love the rich inking in the corner and the sift inking behind the falling sprinkles of water. Just gorgeous! (I have a Quick Stick and it does make sequins easier to deal with…although I still don’t find myself doing a good job with them in general…unlike you!)

  7. Oh Hazel
    you have a clever and brilliant idea for the Cue Card
    I dont join this time my brain is blank hehe
    but I love your idea sooo sweet the rain drops from sequin
    I have only less sequin and dont join this time maybe tomorrow with new cue card
    I adore your leaves and the orange background too…clever CAS card you made!!

    Hazel you won on my blog see this link ok

    http://creativewithmonika.blogspot.de/2016/05/mini-giveaway-winner-and-manly-card.html

    Hope you contact me there and write a bit there then every body know that the winner contacted me 😉 I need your address once more sweety

    Congratulations Hazel

    Hugs
    Monika

  8. I remember that card from last year – I loved it! And this card is just as fabulous. Love the sequins and inking and the beautiful inspiration quote.

Leave a Reply

