A splash of pink…and some layers…!

Sooooooo…..I tried something new…

Layers! Quite a few layers, actually!

IMG_0570.JPG

For those of you who have been following me for a while, you will know that this is way out of my comfort zone. I think there are more embellishments on this card than I have used on my last 25 cards, combined! However, making this was enormously therapeutic! It’s one of the reasons we make cards, isn’t it?

IMG_0567

This card was inspired by the amazing Yana Smakula. I love Yana’s cards, and was super keen to try  out the process she used to make this card.

I really enjoy playing with water-colours, and have fallen in love with the wet-on-wet watercolouring technique, when combined with embossing. I love  the way the colour pools around the embossing, and gradually fades as it spreads!

The same technique was applied to the ‘happy’ sentiment, but because it had been die-cut on ordinary white cardstock, the effect was quite different.

And then, I got to assemble it all! Water-colouring, layers, frames, embossing, stamping, die-cutting, pop dots, embellishments, glitter! I tried it all on this one card, my friends!

SO, after all that, I would like to link this card to:

Time Out Challenge #55: Celebrations with optional twist of die cutting/fussy cutting

Inspired by – all the little things #12:

Simon Says: Make it Girlie

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

I am joining in Virginia’s linky party, (very excited to see Virginia back!) with a birthday card for a special friend.

Seize the Birthday: “Anything Goes”

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “A splash of pink…and some layers…!

  1. Hi Hazel, just watched thus video, fab, thanks for the link. Your card is stunning, love the pink against the coloured base and beautiful design. So good to see you at Time Out

  2. Your card is beautiful! Love the gray with the pop of pink color! Very striking! Thanks for taking the Time Out to play with us!

  3. Beautiful design! I love the pop of pink. Thanks for playing along with us at Seize the Birthday!

  4. You would never believe that you don’t normally use layers, Haze, because this is a real stunner! Love the subtle stamped flowers in the background, the sparkly frame and the gorgeously pooled watercolors!

  5. Very pretty design, it is always good to go outside of your comfort zone once in a while. Thank you for sharing with us at Inspired by All the Little Things this week!

  6. Beautiful card Hazel!! WOW, LOVE the grey and pop of pink! Thanks for playing at inspired By All the Little Things:)

  7. Such a pretty card – I just love the dark grey with a splash of pink – gorgeous! Congrats on working outside your comfort zone too – it really paid off! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Time Out! Jill

  8. Great card! I love the splash of hot pink against the dark background! Thanks for playing along with us at Seize The Birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

