CASology #191: Washi

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter and aren’t suffering from a chocolate hangover!

Whilst a band-aid won’t fix it, some washi tape might… 😉

Washi tape is something I usually admire on everyone else’s cards, but never know how to use it myself.  After a lot of procrastinating, I settled on this very easy CAS design:

IMG_0515

I tell you, the end result does not reflect the time spent thinking about it!! Three strips of washi tape on a card front. A trip through the Big Shot with your favourite sentiment die, and voila! The negative space is all you need for this card. Your die-cut washi sentiment can be used on another card.

I felt the wooden butterfly embellishment might add a little something, so sponged and glittered it and added it to the card.

Now, it’s your turn!

Take a look at the other fab washi tape creations by the DT:

Ardyth Percy-Robb

Deidre Payne

Hannelie Bester

Hazel Hodgkins – you are here!

Jacquie Southas

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kymona Tracey

Melissa Chipperfield

Sherrie Mannion

Tracey McNeely

Thanks for visiting!

-Hazel- 🙂

Materials used:

 

8 thoughts on “CASology #191: Washi

  1. Hazel, I feel you. I have a limited number of Washi, and [besides holding down dies] haven’t the foggiest clue! You have managed to create a very cute, and clever little ‘garden’ for your butterfly! Very pretty, my friend!
    =]

  2. So pretty Hazel and perfectly CAS, I have a wooden butterfly that has been on my desk for about a year…now I have an idea for it!

  3. Sweet is right, Hazel! I love your pretty Washi tape and how you placed it behind your gold sentiment! Love your sparkly butterfly, too! Thanks so much for inspiring us!

  4. That flowered washi tape is gorgeous and I love that you left the die cut open to the inside of the card. So sweet! 😉

  5. I agree, Hazel…I don’t have lots of it, and I don’t use it all that much on cards! However, if I had this pretty floral washi I might use it more, just like you did on your sweet card! This is so pretty, so simple yet so effective! The wooden butterfly is the perfect finishing touch!

  6. Great way to use washi tape! Haven’t used die cutting it myself but I love that you then can use both parts! The butterfly is the perfect embellishment!

Leave a Reply

