CASology #189: Doodle

Hello and welcome to another fun week at CASology! Here’s one to get your creative juices flowing:

I enjoyed doodling on this card recently, so here is another attempt:

IMG_2317

IMG_2318

 The web is full of doodling inspiration, and I was inspired by what I saw here and here and here.

To prevent my pattern becoming overwhelming, I masked off an oval and drew my design onto some linen cardstock using a 0.1 black Artline pen.

Adding colour was achieved by stretching some stamps!

  • The small circle and diamond shapes from STAMPlorations Retro Mod Shapes provided the perfect accents of colour to some leaves and flowers.
  • Eclectic Florals provided a flower stem to add colour to my feathery leaf. I curved it to fit the contour of the central vein.
  • The hearts and tulip shaped flower were coloured using a small triangular stamp (the nose of a penguin!) from Clearly Besotted’s In Stitches: Christmas (sadly, retired).

Finally, Sentiment Builders ‘thanks’ was heat embossed in Silver EP onto some black cardstock,  fussy cut to size, and popped up on some foam for dimension.

Check out this week’s doodling inspiration from the rest of the DT:

Inks used:

  • Altenew Crisp Inks: Mango Smoothie, Cotton Candy and Peach Parfait 
  • Stampin’ Up!: Tempting Turquoise, Strawberry Slush, Pear Pizzazz, Wisteria Wonder, VersaMark
17 thoughts on “CASology #189: Doodle

  1. Oh my, Hazel! Your doodling is amazing! Thank you for the inspiration.
    I am off to check out the inspiration sites and maybe I can come up with a little something 😉

  2. OMG !!!! Fabulous I adore this beauty, what an amazing artist you are. I love how you have kept the doodling to the centre of the card, very dynamic indeed.

    Marie

  3. I love the doodling – and the masked oval highlights your artistry brilliantly! Thanks so much for playing along at Time Out! Jill

  4. Hello Hazel and thank you so much for your sweet comment on my Doodle card, I had fun creating it.
    Your card is amazing, and creative and so colorful too. Love the gorgeous sentiment, I thought you cut it out with a die, that is some impressive fussy cutting!!!
    Thank you for the link to the Zen Doodling, I’m going to check it out.
    This challenge is oodles of fun, thank you for sharing.

    Maria Rodriguez.

  5. I LOVE the silver embossed onto the black and it’s so perfectly fussy cut! And your doodles are brilliant – I thought they were stamped images. 🙂

  6. Super creative of you to stretch your stamps for color Hazel!! And I’m a Pinterest-aholic for doodling inspiration 🙂 This is such a striking card!

Leave a Reply

