Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #5: You’re a Gem!

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

Yay! It’s that time again! Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! is back for a new year, and we have not one, but TWO new designers joining us!! We have none other than the very talented and wonderfully sweet – Sarah and Sandie! We couldn’t be more excited to welcome them on board!

Well, it was Sarah G’s turn to kick things off, and she did, in spectacular style, as usual! Look at this lovely kit, entitled: ‘You’re a Gem!’ Kit contents can be viewed here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! # 5 – You’re a Gem

Lots of options to get the creative juices flowing!

Unfortunately, my first two attempts became bin fodder. The first card stock casualty involved watercolour and a gem. The second – my frenemy – glitter. This was a bit of a shame, as I wasted two precious items from my kit. Nonetheless, I pressed on, and here’s what I came up with:

Card#1:

IMG_2094

I really liked this sentiment, and wanted to pair it with a sun, which I painted onto some water-coloured paper.

Card #2:

IMG_2116

Another fab sentiment, which I paired with a smattering of sparkly stars.

Card #3:

IMG_2115

I LOVED the sparkly die-cut diamond, so I paired it with a sentiment from this fabulous stamp set that I was so lucky to win from CAS-ual Fridays.

I still have some bits and pieces left from my lovely kit, which I will undoubtedly use elsewhere.

A massive thanks to Sarah for her generous and beautiful kit! Please do pop over to the rest of the gals and take a look at what they’ve created!

Sarah Gray

Shona Chambers

Sandie Munro

Sarah Platt

Thanks for visiting!

-Hazel-

11 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #5: You’re a Gem!

  1. Eeeeek!! These all look amazing!!! I absolutely love that sun, its colour and energy goes perfectly with that sentiment. And how did you do that smattering of teeny weeny stars across the second card?? Love the look of that. And that glittery gem on the black is a perfect way to make it a star. I buggered up two of my kit things too. Tried to water colour the ‘sparkle and shine’ word dies but they looked awful and I dropped an inked stamp onto the ‘you’re a gem’ stamped sentiment. Will have to start thinking now about my kit, this is a very hard one to follow!! I’m off to see the other girls now, so exciting!

  2. thank you for the lovely welcome. You rocked this kit. I love the painted sun and so perfect for that sentiment. Gorgeous stamped stars and perfectly CAS. Fab black base for the gem and again CAS perfection. Such a fun kit!

  3. First of all thank you for allowing me to join this gorgeous fun party Hazel and I am swooning in sheer delight at your cards. So much CAS perfection and fabulous ideas with the kit. Oh where do I start … that sun is just AWESOME! and works so brilliantly with the sentiment, love those teeny tiny little stars on the second one – there’s patience for you and the black BG to the last one makes that glittery gem all the more exotic. Can’t wait for the next kit!!!! 😉 x

  4. Well, you had a little rain from your kit, Hazel, but that means you were left with wonderful rainbows for the remaining items and you turned those items into magnificent cards! These are all stunning!! Enjoy your day! Hugs, Darnell

  5. Gorgeous cards, Haze! Your painted sun is genius with that sentiment and how on earth did you adhere all of those teeny tiny stars?! I love the black base for your diamond card too – it really pops. Wonderful CAS creations as ever, my friend! I am rubbing my hands in anticipation of the next kit 🙂

  6. You did an AMAZING job with your kit, Hazel! Your sun is fabulous, and I really love how you added the sparkly stars on your 2nd card! Love, love, love the shimmer of the gem against the black background on your last one…WOW! In spite of your ‘bin fodder’ and ‘frenemy’, you’ve provided a beautiful showcase of your kit for us!!!

  7. I always love seeing what you guys put in your kits and what you make. This was a really fun kit, and I love the cards you made. Brilliant idea to paint your own sun.

Leave a Reply

