Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! # 4: Christmas

Hello again!

Yay! It is my turn to host this month’s Honey, I Shrunk the Kit!

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

And given that the festive season has begun, I couldn’t resist a Christmas theme:

IMG_1931

Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! # 4: Christmas

You may recall that the challenge of putting this kit together is that it has to fit neatly into a C4 envelope. It is a mini kit. The full kit supply list is for this month’s kit is  here:

And, here are my cards:

Card #1:

IMG_1978

IMG_1979

I love the intricate, yet CAS feel of this beautiful bird die. I wanted it to have a ceramic ‘feel’, so I water-coloured it using several shades of blue. Once dry, I heat-embossed it using a pearlescent embossing powder. It has been popped up on a circle of fun foam for added dimension.

I would like to link this card to:

   

 

Card #2:

IMG_1980

I love the appearance of red cardinals! I also felt that the layout and colour scheme had quire a masculine feel.  Unfortunately, I lost the black die cut that gives the cardinal his black collar. So I improvised. With a black marker. He has been stuck onto some patterned vellum, overlaying a black card base.

I would like to link this card to:

Cardz for Guys – CAS Christmas

&

Card #3:

IMG_1982IMG_1983

This gorgeous sentiment just needed a bit of water-colour added in shades of pink and yellow. And a simple stitched frame. And some gold stars.

I would like to link this card to:

 

 

And finally:

Card #4:

IMG_1976IMG_1977

I tried my hand at a simple shaker card! With a bit of glitter in and out of the ‘bauble’. Let’s just say I need a fuse tool…

I would like to link this card to:

  

If you haven’t already, please pay a visit to my wonderful team mates, and see what creations they came up with using this month’s mini kit!

 Shona Chambers 

Sarah Gray

Next year, we will be joined by another team member, so stay tuned!

As always, thanks so much for visiting!

-Hazel-

 

20 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! # 4: Christmas

  1. Such a wonderful collection of cards. Loving the simplicity of the watercoloured background combined with a fancy font sentiment. Thanks for playing at AAA Cards.

  2. You produced a beautiful kit, Hazel and your designs are just fabulous! Love the ‘china’ dove and the subtle watercolour wash on the sentiment. The shaker bauble is so elegant with the gem and that patterned paper. Beautiful work 🙂

  3. Wow, all that from your sweet little kit! Love the Serendipity Stamps bird Dies you used and that simple shaker card is so pretty Hazel!

  4. Each card is a charm … but speaking of! That little beauty hold the ribbon on your shaker card is as gorgeous as the card! Stop by please … I just used a cardinal stamp that doesn’t have that black marking!
    Lovely, Hazel. I cannot wait to hear about the newest team member!
    =]

  5. Yay, they are all amazing!!!!!!!! Sorry I’m so late in replying, the Xmas tree debacle was worse than I thought and I had to take everything off and start again, only to have it fall over again!! Dave is sorting something out to tie it to the wall now, thank goodness!! We did have the same idea for that beautiful sentiment, your frames are gorgeous, especially that soft taupe colour. And I LOVE how you coloured the Dove. I wanted to do something similar but didn’t trust myself not to stuff it up!! Love your ornament shaker, you got your ‘Merry’ word so sparkly. And your vellum on the black CS was such a good idea, it didn’t look right to me on white. And the strip of sparkly washi is brilliant. The cardinal is such a good die. I forgot where the black piece went, so mine looks a bit weird……Thank you so much for this amazing kit. Hopefully everything will have calmed down when its time for Sarah’s envelope to arrive. I’m off to see what she has done!!! Mwah!

  6. Dropped by from Shona’s blog and am I glad I did. 1st you packed so much in that envelope but how you both used those items is phenomenal. I’m so impressed by your designs. And incidentally, that shaker looks terrific. You really don’the need the Fuse.

  7. Oh, Hazel, I always love to see what you girls come up with. Your kits are so perfect–just the right size, and you really sent out some fantastic things. I love everything you created. Thanks so much for playing along at HLS Sketch this month with your lovely dove.

  8. Beautiful shaker card! I just love all the bling going on 🙂 Thanks so much for joining us at Fusion Card Challenge.

  9. Looks like you’ve been busy Hazel – loving all your cards but the bauble shaker card is just stunning! Thanks for playing along at CAS-ual Fridays!

  10. Lovely cards, Hazel. I love the gloss of your embossed bird, such a pretty die. And the framed sentiment with the wash of watercolour is stunning.
    Thanks for linking up at Happy Little Stampers, Anita x

  11. Fabulous cards and superb techniques all… I really love that shaker card!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    Happy Little Stampers

Leave a Reply

