CASology #163: Moon

It’s CASology time again, and we are over the moon to bring you this week’s cue:

And, by that, I refer to that of a celestial nature, not the …ahem… verb). 😉

So, back to that moon noun: For me, I can’t look at the moon without pondering how much lies beyond it and us. It radiates an air of mystery and magic, and it is hardly surprising that it has long been a source of myth and legend.

On a lighter note, I love how children’s picture books often depict the moon as having a surface not dissimilar to a piece of Swiss cheese, and being a picture book fanatic, I went with that image.

Here is the result:

image

And here’s a closer look at the moon’s surface:

image

My ‘moon craters’ were created using the two sizes of ‘coffee rings’ stamps  from STAMPlorations’ Holiday Artsy stamp set. I thought they added the texture and interest I was looking for, in what would otherwise have been a large, plain white moon.

I toyed with the idea of going with a nature theme, but having recently read this beautifully-illustrated, poignant story to my little boys, of two friends being separated when one moves away to a big city, I settled on the image of a cityscape. I die cut the cityscape (Clearly Besotted) twice – once in yellow and once in black, to create the  impression of moonlight reflecting off the skyscrapers.

And given that the tone of the card was one of yearning, I couldn’t go past the ‘missing you’ sentiment, also from the same STAMPlorations stamp set.

Please take a look at how the rest of the Design Team was inspired:

Guest Designer: Sarah

This week’s Sponsor:  STAMPlorations

I am also linking this to:

CTS #139:

and

Addicted to CAS Challenge #71: Blue – as in the emotion: ‘feeling blue’.

Thanks so much for visiting! I look forward to how the moon inspires you this week!

Hazel 🙂

14 thoughts on “CASology #163: Moon

  1. Love the night time scene you created, and such a clever way to get the moon texture. That looks like a very sweet children’s book. Honestly, one of the worst part of my girls growing up is the lack of picture books coming into our house now. I think I enjoyed them as much as they did.

  2. Oh Hazel … we may not have yet become facebook friends when my friend Miriam came here to visit me after 52 years of separation… your story book sounds much like what happened to the two of us … must get that for my grands! Your card is just fabulous… LOve your creative creation of craters on your moon [and we won’t mention the verb only to say it has been seen a few times ’round here…]
    =]

  3. This is gorgeous, Hazel! I love the texture you added to the moon – so clever – and the layered skyline is beautiful.
    In an attempt to get me to stop moping my friend is trying to get me to write stories about Atti to make into a kid’s book. I need to do some research into picture books so any recommendations you have would be much appreciated!

  4. Fantastic, Hazel! Love seeing the moonlight falling to the city 🙂 Thanks so much for playing along with us at Addicted to CAS! – Sweet Kobylkin

  5. Beautiful skyline and I love how you added texture by stamping on the moon! Stunning card! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at Addicted to CAS!

  6. Wow, this is brilliant and I love how you did the moon. I must have another look at the CASology gallery and see if anyone was cheeky enough to include a ‘backside’ on their card….

  7. Hazel, this is amazing! I LOVE the circles on the moon, they do look like craters! I have to say I love reading your posts — you are not only a wonderful card maker but an excellent writer!

Leave a Reply

