CASology #162: Write

It’s CASology time again, and this week we have another great cue for you:

This cue made me think of good old fashioned hand-writing. The study of handwriting is fascinating in itself, and it always amazes me to know that we each have a handwriting style so unique that it can be used to verify documents and in some cases, determine our state of health!

Being a leftie, I had to work especially hard at developing a handwriting style that was neat and legible.  I did ok, but always marvelled at the rhythmic, un-smudged repetition, consistent spacing and letter slope that seemed to flow effortlessly from the hands of some.

So, with these memories firmly imprinted on my memory, I decided to firmly imprint some lettering into some vellum, and came up with this:

image

I dry-embossed a piece of vellum with a ‘Pretty Print’ retired embossing folder from Stampin’ Up. I loved the flowing cursive style of this embossing folder. I attached the vellum to my linen cardstock with glue-dots. For interest, I folded up a corner of the vellum to reveal my sweet little ‘love you’ sentiment, also in a gorgeous script, from Serendipity Stamps. The corner was invisibly secured with a glue dot. For a pop of colour, I added a tiny heart from Waffle Flower’s Bowtiful stamp set. For a homespun touch, I added some linen thread.

image

And there you have it!

Please take a look at how the rest of the Design Team was inspired:

Guest Designer:  Diana

This week’s Sponsor:  Cindy B Designs

I am also linking this to:

Serendipity Stamps’ Anything Goes Challenge!

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge: Anything Goes

and

AAA Card Challenge#47: Spectacular Embossing

Thanks so much for popping by!

Hazel 🙂

21 thoughts on “CASology #162: Write

  1. What a pretty little card! This would be so perfect to send to my daughters who just left for college a couple weeks ago (so missing them!). That little Love You is so sweet. Thanks for joining the Serendipity Stamps Anything Goes Challenge!

  2. Hello Hazel: Your card is just so beautiful, love the perfectly embossed Vellum and the sweet detail of the turned up corner with the little “I love you” sentiment. The teeny, tiny red heart is a fabulous pop of color.
    Thank you for sharing at CASology.
    Hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.

  3. I had no idea you could emboss vellum!! It looks so cool on your card and has such a pretty effect. Must try this out, certainly beats heat embossing where I get powder EVERYWHERE!!!

  4. Such a wonderful card and great design. Every element on this card is there for a reason, and the result is perfection.

  5. This is so clever! I love that peek a boo too – like a secret message for someone special. Yummy embossing – really fab idea that you executed perfectly Hazel!

Leave a Reply

