Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #2: Latte Love

Hello Everyone!

It’s our second instalment of Honey, I Shrunk the Kit, and this month Sarah is our wonderful host:

Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

Sarah timed the arrival of her parcel perfectly! (wink – we won’t talk about our postal service!)  It was a rainy, miserable Monday morning and I was in need of my morning coffee. I went to the mailbox, and was greeted by Sarah’s package, and this cheerful card:

image

Sarah’s gorgeous card accompanying this month’s ‘Honey, I Shrunk the Kit’.

I had a smile on my face for the rest of the day!

So, armed with this beautiful stash, I was able to make three cards, and here they are:

Card #1:

image

It’s always hardest making the first card. You have so many exciting elements to choose from, so I tried a layered look. I coloured my coffee cup using some Derwent coloured pencils, before fussy-cutting it and popping it up with some foam dots. I just loved the zesty green cardstock! Such a ‘fresh, pick-me-up, and let’s get going’ colour.

For the second card, I was channelling a bit of my inner Amy!

Card#2:

image

I love how Amy creates fun ‘treat sleeve’ cards, and having this sweet little glassine bag in this month’s kit, inspired me to make my own! I also absolutely HAD to fill it with a couple of free coffee cards and send them to a friend!  In fact, when I came to writing this post, I thought that in my over-zealousness to send ‘Happy Mail’, I had forgotten to take a pic. Following a few heart palpitations, I unearthed it!  Phew!

And finally, there is this one:

Card #3:

image

I think it’s my favourite. I had four elements left in my kit. I was dead certain that I was going to use the coffee mug, which I carefully coloured and fussy cut. This dreamy pink cardstock was a definite too.  For two nights, I I fluffed around, moving the sentiment, the cup, and this little wooden lady around the cardstock, until, in frustration, I tipped the cup off, and suddenly the card seemed to create itself! A thin vellum die-cut circle, and some corner punching was all I needed to complete my little CAS card. Just love how it turned out!!

image

I cannot thank Sarah enough for creating such an inspiring kit. I had SO much fun playing with all the elements and making these cards! All I have left are a strip of green cardstock, a fussy cut cup (that sweet, swirly coffee mug WILL grace the front of a card shortly. I have another idea brewing for that one…) and one (and a half) sentiments. Now, the challenge is to send the remaining two cards out to a couple of friends!

CANNOT wait to play again in two months’ time when Shona will be our host!

Make sure you pop by Sarah and Shona‘s blogs, and see what they have created with this month’s kit!

Thanks so much for visiting! 🙂

-Hazel-

9 thoughts on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kit! #2: Latte Love

  1. These are fabulous, Hazel – you were definitely inspired by the mini kit 🙂 Love the colourful combination of elements on the first card, clever glassine bag on the second and the uber CAS and pretty third card. You are so clever – love your eye for design! Thanks for another chance to play along…..looking forward to Shona’s kit already 🙂

  2. There it is!!! I just wrote to you asking if you’d have another edition! Haze you have made three of the sweetest cards! I love that lime-zesty green and perfectly colored take-out cup. That you’re channeling my darling friend, Amy… and your CAS pink number is the most darling way to say hello – you knew when to say when, for sure!
    =] Michele

  3. Hazel the cards you made are too sweet! Love the gassleine envelope and the CAS on at the end. Kits are so much fun! Sarah’s stamped card is gorgeous!

  4. These all rock, Hazel, but I am especially loving your first card. Your coloring on the coffee cup is gorgeous (perfect shading!) and I love the green card behind that patterned paper. 🙂

  5. Hi Hazel, I’ve just left a comment for Sarah. I left comments for the two of you last night and some other blog people’s and have just realised that none of them worked…eeek! So I’m so sorry about that, feel awful. Sarah created another brilliant kit and just love how our cards are all different. I loved that lime green CS too and love it layered with the rainbow paper. You coloured your coffee cup so perfectly too. Well done using the glassine bag. I remembered that I have a pile of these somewhere, must use them. So glad you took a photo and your friend is going to love all this sweetness. And your pink card, its darling and CAS perfection. I think its my favourite one too!!! I have a couple of big posts this week and then I can relax and finally decide on my kit theme. So many ideas and goodies to use. Will let you know when its on its way and hopefully it will get a fast boat!!!

Leave a Reply

