Butterflies and sequins!

Happy Friday Everyone!

Just sharing a quick card I made for a couple of Challenges using a gorgeous new butterfly stamp that I recently received from Serendipity Stamps. Couldn’t wait to use it, and couldn’t believe my luck when I saw that I could join in on these two fabulous Challenges:


Here is my card. I have categorised it as “Clean & Layered”, as I have matted the image twice before adding it to the base card:

image

The butterflies in the Card Concept photo look like biscuits to me. Consequently, I chose a Crumb Cake cardstock background, and heat embossed the sentiment and butterfly in white to resemble icing. I then used my Stampin’ markers to colour in the butterfly in an assortment of colours. This is my first ever butterfly stamp, and I now understand why people love using them so much.

And to finish, I had to add these fab Mahogany sequins! I don’t usually use sequins, but loved these with their woodgrain appearance! I treated myself to some beech and bamboo ones also, so expect to see a few more sequins in upcoming projects.

And that’s it! Thanks so much for popping by!

-Hazel-

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Whisper White; Melon Mambo; Crumb Cake (SU!)
  • Stamps: Butterfly Nouveau (1315- Serendipity Stamps)
  • Ink: Versa-Mark & Stampin’ Markers – Pacific Point; Strawberry Slush; Wild Wasabi, Crisp Cantaloupe, Crumb Cake, Daffodil Delight, Coastal Cabana
  • Die: Stitched Mat Dies – L’il Inker Designs
  • Other: Mahogany Sequins (Serendipity Stamps); White Embossing Powder (SU!) 
10 thoughts on “Butterflies and sequins!

  1. Beautiful Hazel. Love the colours of your gorgeous butterfly. It just pops off the crumb cake base. Thanks for playing along at ATCAS.

  2. Such a beautiful card Hazel! Love the coloring and the white outline. Thanks for joing us over at ATCAS!

  3. What a pretty butterfly, Hazel! It looks so pretty with the Crumb Cake behind it! Love those sequins! Thanks for sharing with us at ATCAS!

  4. Hooray for your first butterfly stamp!! I can imagine it will be used a lot, they seem to be all the rage at the moment. Love the way you coloured this one and really pops against the beige background colour. How did they colour those butterfly biscuits?? Such a gorgeous photo and definitely one for the pastry chefs to master.

Leave a Reply

