MUSE #121

Well, after thinking that I would not be able to join in this week’s MUSE fun, I found a few minutes to have a play!

Michele put forward this delightful MUSE card,  and I couldn’t resist. Isn’t this is a great card?

Two things grabbed me instantly: those fat navy enamel dots, and those three round flower heads! I love how she constructed those flowers from a variety of sources. So, I set to work:

image

In truth, this poor card was rescued from the recycling bin about four times before I finished with it! I know it looks easy, but anything with symmetry is fraught with error for me. What a fiasco it turned to be! The things I do for you, Michele! 😉

Firstly, I wanted yellow enamel dots to complement the navy, but discovered that I only had two left, so I went with pink. After stamping my three floral heads in navy, using my Stamp-a-ma-jig to carefully line them up, I discovered I slightly smudged the third one. I had to overlook it. I know my luck, lightening doesn’t strike twice, so perfectly centred (and slightly smudged) it had to be. The stems were hand-drawn, and my leaves were made from punched out hearts, which I cut in half. So far, it was going ok.

And then, there was the sentiment…

Well, in the end, the sentiment picked me, because my confidence had taken a battering! I stamped my first sentiment: ‘Get well wishes’ a bit crooked. Scrap that! For my next trick, I decided to stamp my sentiment across the frame and the base card to get a layered effect. Woeful fail! So I overlaid another frame to hide my mistake – in Melon Mambo this time, as I had run out of Strawberry Slush (my initial frame colour). I stamped my sentiment again, and this time, it looked ok.  And then, I stuck my pink panel onto my base card crooked! Aaaaaaahh! Pull it off. Try again!!!  Wait, hang on! Now I had centred the frame with the sentiment beneath, but it was over too far to one side. Bring out the trimmer…!

So, that was yesterday! I have stopped breathing into my paper bag, and can look at this card and have a chuckle…just!

Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Linen White (Quill); Melon Mambo (SU!)
  • Stamps: Simply Sent (retired SU!); Time to Relax (Clearly Besotted)
  • Ink: Night of Navy; Pistachio Pudding Stampin’ Marker (SU!)
  • Die: Stitched Mat Dies (L’il Inker Designs)
  • Punch: little heart from Owl Punch (SU!)
  • Other: Enamel dots-red collection (Francheville); Stamp-a-ma-jig (SU!)
8 thoughts on “MUSE #121

  1. Sounds like a crafting day in my house!!! But you have saved this card beautifully and no one would know the trials and tribulations it has caused you to get there 🙂 x

  2. Both Hannelie and Jenni took the words from my mouth… but I must add this: the things you do for me are both appreciated, and loved… this is so sweet, Hazel! From the darling little stamped flower-heads, to your brilliant little leaves and hand-drawn stems! I am ever so happy and grateful to have you play cards with me this week at Muse, Hazel … and day, any week [but will she ever again?]
    =] Michele

  3. Don’t you love when the card sits there looking perfect and simple as can be, but you know it took you a full pack of paper to get it done?! Happens to me more than I will ever admit! lol! I love the addition of pink – so glad you joined us at Muse this week, Hazel!

  4. I am so impressed that you persevered and it was so worth it! Love all the little details that nearly did you in! 😉

  5. Who would have known that this sweet little card was such a trouble maker. I have had similar things happen–I think we all have. Something starts and ends so simple, the the in the middle stuff–lots of errors. Anyway, glad you finally got it done and posted, because it is a fabulous take on this week’s Muse.

  6. I thought I was the only one to have continuous card making disasters!!! It’s always so good to get the card finished and have ‘beaten it’ instead of ‘it beating you’. I’m constantly smudging stuff and I’m TERRIBLE at getting things balanced or in a straight line. I can’t even draw a straight line with a ruler!! Well, I can tell you that with all that trial and tribulation, this is such a winner!

Leave a Reply

