CASology #150: Graduation

Happy Tuesday everyone!

A CASology cue word undoubtedly close to many of your hearts right now:

I expect there to be lots of amazing entries on this subject matter!

And on the topic of learning, I learnt three things while preparing my CASology Graduation card this week:

1. The mortarboard hat is actually named after the hawk tool that is used by bricklayers to hold mortar while they work. You probably already knew that, but it was a revelation to me. Here it is, compliments of Wikipedia:

Hawk-plaster’s tool

Now, it all makes sense to me!

2. When you stamp Tuxedo Black ink onto pearlescent paper, you get this cool bronzy, silvery colour:

image

An unexpected, yet exciting discovery! No need for Wink of Stella this week!

3. A teeny, tiny sentiment stamp can make a fun CAS border, leaving lots and lots of clean, ‘white’ space!

image

Proof that you never stop learning!

Hope you have fun with this cue this week, and a hearty congratulations to all of you who have loved ones graduating this year. It’s undoubtedly a bittersweet time for all concerned.

Take a look at the amazing inspiration offered by the Design Team, and our wonderful Guest Designer this week,  Sarah:

Gillian Ross

Hazel Hodgkins

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kimberly Wiener

Kymona Tracey

May Park

Melissa Chipperfield

Tracey McNeely

Guest Designer:  Sarah

Stamplorations is our sponsor this week, which is fantastic! I was very excited to learn that they have a variety of free shipping options, even for international customers! Always such a bonus!

Thanks so much for visiting, and I hope to see you in the gallery this week.

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Pearlescent cardstock (Paperstop); Basic Black; Silver Slate; Cherry Cobbler (SU!)
  • Ink: Tuxedo Black (Memento); Versa-Mark
  • Stamps: The Graduate (Clearly Besotted); Teeny Tiny Sentiments (SU!)
  • Die: The Graduate (Clearly Besotted)
  • Other: Tiny star rhinestones (Poppy Craft); White embossing powder (SU!)
12 thoughts on “CASology #150: Graduation

  1. Hazel!!! You’ve just taught me three things I did not know! Move over Wiki! LOve your fabulous card… so dramatic in black, and classically matted… wow. So very masculine! And, oh, look at that – I have a few graduation cards made already!!! Bonus!
    =] Michele

  2. Thanks for passing along those tips this week. It is always good to keep learning, and very nice to learn from the experiences of friends. Love this card–so simple and would work for male or female. Count me amongst those with graduation on the brain this spring.

  3. I didn’t know about the mortarboard. So thank you for haring. I really liked the cards you made. I wish I had seen this card 2 months ago. I would have them instead of what I did. I have nerve damage in my back and right shoulder, so anything I can do to make my cards easier is great. (less time in pain!). So I really THANK YOU!

  4. Hey Hazel!! I love how you taught me some new things as well. I had no idea the cap was created after the hawk tool. It does makes sense now. I love your card. The red stripe with the sentiment is my favorite!!

  5. Well, I learned something new today!! I wonder why exactly they based the hat on that tray?? Must have been a man thing. I think your card is perfect and your the second person recently using little font stamps on their card. I hardly ever do it but it looks so good, you’ve inspired me to give it a go. I’m off to spend the weekend with my Mum tomorrow night, can’t wait to relax with her and catch up on my movies, magazines and card making. Enjoy your Friday and the weekend!

  6. super gratuation card, looks cool with the red stripe, (and thank you for your information with the challenge at Virginia’s) 🙂

  7. Love the black and Cherry Cobbler combo and what a cool discovery with the pearlescent paper!
    I had no idea about the origins of the mortar board either. How cool! I was devastated when I graduated high school because my class (24 girls) voted against hats because they didn’t want to ruin their hair. Ridiculous. Although I guess it gave me the incentive to graduate from university so I’d get a chance to wear the hat! LOL!

Leave a Reply

