“Honey, I Shrunk the Kit!”

Hi Everyone!

This is a bit of a different post today!

It is no secret that I absolutely ADORE the concept of  The 12 Kits of Occasions and have spent way too many hours ‘oohing’ and ‘aahing’ at what the amazing Design Team puts together each month! The idea that a card designer shops their stash and thoughtfully puts together a themed kit for a group of like-minded crafters to create a collection of beautiful cards, really inspired me.

After chatting to a couple of my CASology teamies, Tracey and Joyce, who are also Designers for the 12 Kits of Occasions,  I decided to try something similar, albeit on a MUCH smaller scale. As you can appreciate, living in Oz can make postage costs a bit steep, especially if you want to send anything abroad and/or to multiple people.

So, in collaboration with a couple of superb crafty individuals you all know and love: Sarah Gray and Shona Chambers, we came up with: Honey I Shrunk the Kit logo

The Kit comes with “a few, uh, provisos, a, a couple of quid pro quos”, as the Genie from Aladdin would say, namely:

  • Each Kit needs to have a Theme. This month it’s ‘Gratitude’ (gratitude for Shona and Sarah, who kindly agreed to indulge me on this idea!)
  • Everything has to fit within a regular C6 envelope (all in the name of lower postage costs!)
  • The CHALLENGE is to make a minimum of two CAS cards, using as much of the provided kit as possible
  • You can add any of your own stash to make it happen!

So, here is  ‘Honey I Shrunk the Kit!#1: Gratitude’

image

‘Honey, I Shrunk the Kit # 1: Gratitude’

And, here are the two cards I made, using the contents of my kit:

image

image

Card One: close-up, which fails to capture Wink of Stella on the wings. Really sweet in real life! Heart strip in background from Waffle Flower’s Bowtiful stamp set.

image

image

Card Two: Additional sentiment from SU’s retired Short & Sweet stamp set, and girl image from Tamar Nahir-Yanai. Image coloured with SU Markers and water-colour pencils. Wink of Stella added to heart.

Creating these cards with a limited kit was certainly a challenge, particularly if you make a mistake! Let’s just say that both cards are the product of a series of ‘happy upcycled accidents…’

Ironically, the two elements of the kit that I was certain I would use, didn’t end up being used! Isn’t that always the way?? However, it was A LOT of fun, and I enjoyed the challenge of making do with what I had. I am looking forward to the next kit in eager anticipation!!

Please pay a visit to:

Sarah from Funky Fossil Designs

Shona from Twine Around

and see the amazing creations they came up with using the Kit.

Thanks so much for visiting, and a MASSIVE thank you to Sarah and Shona for joining me, and to The 12 Kits of Occasions, Tracey & Joyce for being the initial (ongoing) inspiration!

Before I go, I would like to link Card One to this week’s Just Add Ink Challenge#264. as I used this sketch for inspiration:

I would also like to link both cards to:

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge: Anything Goes!

Addicted to Stamps: Anything Goes!

-Hazel-

14 thoughts on ““Honey, I Shrunk the Kit!”

  1. Yippee!! So exciting to do our first post! Your cards are fantastic and I love what you did the the bubble die-cuts, I didn’t even think about clouds. That’s what I love about this idea, how three of us can look at the same things and use them differently. I’m off to see Sarah’s cards now but will email you soon!

  2. Well look at you go! Hazel I think you are amazing and so creative… good for you to get Shona and Sarah [also uber amazing] to join in the fun! It is such an incredible idea … I’m so grateful to be in the 12 Kits of Occasions club! I wish I lived in your postal area!!! LOve, love, love the name!!! I think I should take a lesson there maybe?
    =] Michele

  3. Oh Hazel, these are darling! I love the white space and textured background. I love how you showcased this kit (that cloud die is too fun)! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Anything Goes” Challenge!

  4. Oh these are so pretty, Hazel! Love the red hearts on the first – they make the sweet birds pop and your cloud card is so lovely (and creative). I loved playing with the first kit….I hope it doesn’t take too long for mine to reach you 🙂 Thanks for letting me play along!

  5. Fabulous idea, Hazel. Love the name! Lots of fun. Also love the cards you created using the kit. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week. x

  6. Your post title made me laugh..:0) great card, sweet and simple. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink.

  7. The “thank you” card is adorable, Hazel. I love your colour choices, the sweet stamped hearts, and the stitched die-cut rectangle. Thanks for joining in the fun at Just Add Ink this week!

  8. I absolutely love your shrunken kit idea (we could take a cue from you, as our kits have grown over time to astounding size). Your two cards are just darling–I especially love that little girl on the cloud–perhaps it is cloud 9? I am so flattered and excited that you were inspired by our little 12 kits group to form your own group. I am heading over to see what Sarah and Shona made with their kit.

  9. Oh my gosh I LOVE this ! The name is just perfect and made me smile! I agree with Joy e as we have said many times we need to shrink ours a little. You will love doing this …I know I love our little group. Have fun! Love your CAS cards! Off to see the Shona,and Sarah!

  10. What a brilliant idea! Love your mini kits and the gorgeous cards you made from them. The first one is gorgeous – that bright yellow base is lovely and reminds me how much I like non-white based cards. Must make more of them. The clouds on the second card are so sweet – like a little mobile!

Leave a Reply

