CASology Week 146-Music

It’s time for some music at CASology this week!

I was feeling a little festive (I think the new Christmas Visions at MUSE  has something to do with that!), so I chose an old favourite Christmas carol to address the cue, and after much deliberation, came up with this card:

image

I love this Jolly Christmas stamp set from Uniko Studio. Can you see the ‘fa la la la la’ that has been stamped into my tree image? Are you singing it? It serves more as a texture in this image, as I have water-coloured the tree using Old Olive dye ink, and once dried, just stamped the sentiment over the top in the same colour. The tree and remainder of the sentiment has been heat-embossed in Gold Glory embossing powder (Stampin’ Up!). I think it’s a retired EP, but I like it because it has an old brassy look, which works well with the tones in Old Olive.

I can’t wait to see how you are inspired this week!  The Design Team has more fabulous inspiration for you! Stamplorations is sponsoring,  so check the  blog for further details.

Gillian Ross -on a break.
Hazel Hodgkins – that’s me!
Guest Designer: Loll
Thanks so much for visiting!

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Watercolour Paper; Old Olive (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Inks: Old Olive, Versa-Mark (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Stamps: Jolly Christmas (Uniko Studio)
  • Other: Dimensionals; Tombo Mono ; Gold Glory EP(Stampin’ Up!)
11 thoughts on “CASology Week 146-Music

  1. Your Christmas card has brought me to song this morning, Hazel! Love the Old Olive – my first S.U. purchase! Also makes me want to curl up under a quilt and watch “A Christmas Story.”
    =] Michele

  2. What a fun card. It has me singing along in my head. Love the stamped over watercolor look as a filler. Very subtle and effective.

  3. Hazel, I was this close to making a Christmas card with that exact same sentiment! Ha! Great minds….I do love the tree filled with “fa la la la la’s,” that is VERY clever and fun! Makes me chuckle and think of the movie “A Christmas Story” when they had to go out to dinner for Thanksgiving (ever see it?).

  4. You’ve just given me an idea!! I have the latest Uniko Xmas stamps and one says ‘Let it Snow’ which is one of my favourite Xmas songs…..wheels are turning…… Your card is so sweet and I love that it isn’t the usual Xmas colours too. So perfect for the challenge!!

  5. So cute! I love the little fa-la-las in the tree! I haven’t been able to bring myself to break out my Christmas supplies yet but I really should get on with it given that yesterday I’m sure it was February and now suddenly it’s almost June!!

Leave a Reply

