CASology Week 145-Shape

‘Shape’ is this week’s cue at CASology:

I was inspired to create some leaf shapes. It’s Autumn here, and leaves are falling thick and fast. I needed to stretch my stamps to create this random leaf pattern. This is not a leaf stamp at all. It’s actually the ‘filling’ of a bucket. It’s proven to be quite versatile, as I also created this flower card using the same stamp.

For this card, I created a circle stencil, applied it to my cardstock, and then stamped the negative space in a variety of different colours. Given that many of you are welcoming Spring into your lives, I decided to ‘freshen’ up my Autumn palette.

image

 

I love the translucency of dye inks, and really like the dimension you get from overlapping shapes, without having to add any layers!

What’s going to shape your thinking this week?  The Design Team has more fabulous inspiration for you! Cindy B Designs is sponsoring,  so check the CASology blog for further details.

Gillian Ross -on a break.

Hazel Hodgkins

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kimberly Wiener

Kymona Tracey

May Park

Melissa Chipperfield

Tracey McNeely

Guest Designer:

Thanks so much for visiting!

I am also linking this card to Waffle Flower’s Current Challenge, where my focus is on the foliage:

Waffle Flower Challenge-20150427

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: White (Panther)
  • Inks: Daffodil Delight; Pear Pizzazz; Glorious Green; Pumpkin Pie; Pistachio Pudding (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Stamps: Hey Mr (Waffle Flower)
  • Other: Paper rounder; 2 1/2″ circle punch (Stampin’ Up!)
13 thoughts on “CASology Week 145-Shape

  1. Hazel this is just lovely! I have such a limited number of inks – this really makes me wish for more as I agree about the overlapped dimension… so pretty!
    =] Michele

  2. Don’t you just love it when you can use a stamp for all sorts of things!! This is so clever and love the colours you used. Must put my thinking cap on for this one!!

  3. This is a great interpretation of the cue word – shapes within a shape. The overlapping leaves add so much interest. Gorgeous card!

  4. This is brilliant! I love the awesome pattern you created and I totally thought that was a leaf stamp. Brilliant use of a bucket filler!

  5. This is a fabulous card, and your design really got me thinking. I am laughing that they are leaves, which totally makes sense. What I have been thinking, every time I saw this card on our CASology blog, was that they were little microscopic things, seen through the lens of a microscope–microbes or something–but good ones.

Leave a Reply

