CASology Week#143: Ombre

It’s CASology time again, and this week’s cue is:

Now, ombre is about graduations of the same colour, or a three-handed card game played in Europe in the 16th/17th Century. Take your pick! 😉

Here is my take:

image

A very simple design. Beautifully photographed (not!) in a cosy jarrah nook. I have my eye on a portable light box. I believe Mother’s Day is approaching…

My flowers have been punched from water-colour cardstock that I washed in Cotman’s Permanent Rose water-colour paint. I hope you can see the graduation of colour intensify from the first to the third flower.

Which brings me to my layout for this week’s card: I have applied the ‘Rule of Three’ (not to be confused with the Rule of Thirds).  The Latin phrase, “omne trium perfectum” (everything that comes in threes is perfect, or, every set of three is complete) conveys the same idea as the rule of three. While this particular phrase applies to written works, we all know that ‘threes’ work so beautifully in design! And given that we are delving into a little French for ‘ombre’, I couldn’t resist throwing in a little Latin also! 😉

The Design Team and special Guest Designer are so inspiring, as always. Please pay them a visit and say hi. We are fortunate to have Avery Elle  sponsoring our Challenge this week. Details are at CASology.

As Spring is in the air for many of you, I am also linking this card to AAA Cards Springtime Challenge:

Thanks for popping by!

-Hazel-

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Whisper White; Pink Pirouette (Stampin’ Up!); Water-colour cardstock (Eduardo di Paolo)
  • Stamp: My Cup of Tea (Clearly Besotted)
  • Watercolour paint-Cotman Permanent Rose 502 (Windsor & Newton)
  • Punch: Petite Petals (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Other: Versa-mark; Silver Embossing Powder (Starfish Lane); Candy Dots-neutrals (Stampin’ Up!)
16 thoughts on “CASology Week#143: Ombre

  1. I spotted this adorable and pretty card at CASology so had to pop across and thank you also for linking up at AAA Cards. Sarah

  2. Such a hard choice, Hazel… you know how much I love to ‘play cards!!’ Your darling posies have put a smile on my face this morning! Darling…
    =] Michele

  3. Yup – I can totally see the colour graduation and I love the softness of the colours. I had no idea about the card game. Wonder if anyone will use that in their design? And I love that you tossed in the Latin! I studied it for 5 years in high school although I don’t remember a whole lot now… 🙂

  4. Love the subtle ombre effect that you created with the white space! Great design and absolutely perfect for the Springtime Challenge this week at AAA Cards! Jill

  5. Hazel, I think this post was one of the most educational posts I’ve read in a while! I had a bot of a history lesson AND saw a very lovely card, too! I have a light box coming my way for Mother’s Day…hopefully you get what you want, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

