CASology Week 142-Sweet

Did you ever eat ‘Fairy Bread’ as a kid? Perhaps it is called by another name in your neck of the woods, but it looks like this.

Well, it does when the very talented Kerryanne from Shabby Art Boutique makes it. My fairy bread is usually cut into unsophisticated, somewhat uneven triangles. However, the adage is right – you are never too old for fairy bread.

I remember the first time I tried fairy-bread. I had only recently arrived in Australia, and was at a birthday party in a new country. Among other delectable and intriguing never-before-seen treats on the party table were buttered triangles of white bread completely coated in hundreds and thousands. I was bemused. What business did hundreds and thousands have on a humble slice of white bread? Surely, these sprinkles were reserved for ice-cream or cake toppings, and sparingly at that? And then I tasted a piece of fairy bread, and it all made sense!  Something magic happens to a slice of buttered white bread when it meets hundreds and thousands…

This week’s CASology cue word is:

And here is my new and improved ‘fairy bread’:

image

Using a heart-shaped cookie-cutter, I faintly traced the outline of a heart, and then literally filled the space with dots made using my Stampin’ Markers. The sentiment is from Tamar-Nahir-Yanai Clear Stamps 4, and was heat-embossed in white onto some Crisp Cantaloupe cardstock, fussy cut, then popped up with some foam tape. Sweet, clean and simple!

That’s it!

I am also linking this card to:
Virginia’s View Challenge #14: Layers & Dimensions and skimming in by the skin of my teeth for CAS(E) this Sketch #118.

 

Please also pop by the rest of the Design Team and say ‘hi!’ Stamplorations is sponsoring this week. Visit CASology for more details.

14 thoughts on “CASology Week 142-Sweet

  1. How adorable is this? Just the sweetest heart around. Love the description of Fairy bread, Hazel. The term “hundreds and thousands” – new to me and I am intrigued by them both! Seems it would be yummy – a different take on the sweet/salty flavors I love!
    =] Michele

  2. I love your story (and your card!) I think the Dutch eat sandwiches of butter and chocolate sprinkles, so nothing surprises me! They are so pretty!

  3. How funny, I thought Fairy Bread was a world-wide phenomenon!! Everyone seems to like it and there is always at least one plateful of them at any birthday party (even for adults!). I love your ‘marker’ version and looks so much like the ones Kerryanne makes (those are a work of art!!). Fabulous CAS design and oh so sweet!

  4. Nope, never even heard of fairy bread much less eaten it but that may have to change soon I think! Love the way you recreated it with the markers – such a simple idea but so very effective! PS Where did you live before Australia?

  5. Wow, I just learned something new! I’d never heard of fairy bread before…although its sounds perfectly sweet and wonderful! Your card is a wonderful interpretation of your story and the cue!

  6. Hey Hazel!! Your heart is super cute. I love the tiny dots. I’ve never had fairy bread but it looks delicious. The candy looks like nerd candy that we eat here in the states. Thanks for teaching me something new.

  7. I have never heard of fairy bread, but that will not stop me from admiring your sweet card with that luscious heart. Brilliant way to make all those dots.

  8. Delightful color layering! Love it! Thanks so much for playing Virginia’s View “Layers and Dimensions” Challenge! Hope to see your lovely work soon again!

Leave a Reply

