#Be Fancy

It was a special friend’s 40th recently, and I wanted to make her a card befitting of the occasion. This was an intimidating task, as this friend has style and finesse that rivals the best. Unlike me, she is also more subtle in her approach to most things, so bold colours weren’t going to cut it.

Once I got over my lengthy analysis paralysis, I came up with this:

image

Once I figured out what to do, this was a fun card to make. As I mentioned in a previous post, Monika sent me a variety of Hero Arts ‘shoes’ to play with (too bad they aren’t the real thing!) This shoe felt like the right fit, so I set to work.

I water-coloured the shoe using Stampin’ Up! dye inks – Crisp Cantaloupe and Crumb Cake. I made the flower embellishment following this fantastic tutorial by the awesomely talented May Park. I adore it, and can see myself making a lot more! I have always wanted to incorporate felt into my cards, and I love how this turned out!

image

I am rubbish with needle and thread, so when this little felt flower came together, I was so excited that I had to leave my little thread tails behind, proof that I had actually ‘made’ this sweet little embellishment. 🙂 Must have been May’s good instructions!

As for the cardstock, my two panels were die-cut using my stitched mat dies and the vellum sheet heat-embossed with the sentiment.

To assemble, I fussy-cut my shoe, hot glued the felt flower to it, and popped it up onto my angled panels using dimensionals. Still CAS, but with a bit of dimension! Needless to say, this card was hand-delivered!

As I was playing with layers and dimensions, I am adding this to Virginia’s View Challenge#14:   and Lawnscaping Challenge #103-Dimension

 

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Sahara Sand; Sweet Sorbet DSP (Stampin’ Up!); Vellum
  • Stamp: Hero Arts-CL303-High Heel Shoes; Lawn Fawn-Clark’s Alphabet; Waffle Flower-Bowtiful
  • Ink: Crisp Cantaloupe; Crumb Cake; Versa-Mark (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Dies: L’il Inkers Stitched Mats
  • Other: White Felt; Pearl Basic Rhinestones; White Embossing Powder; Dimensionals; Crystal Effects (Stampin’ Up!)
7 thoughts on “#Be Fancy

  1. Oh Hazel!! I adore your shoe, and the little flower is fantastic… your friend will feel like Cinderella when she receives this card! What would we do without fabulous card-blogging friends? what a treat!!
    =] Michele

  2. ha ha ha – analysis paralysis – i just laughed so hard!! ha ha!
    this card is BEAUTIFUL! the way you added dimension to that shoe…hello!!! AMAZING!! and i just love the vellum in the background! beautiful card for your friend!! 🙂 thank you so much for playing along with the Lawnscaping Challenge! 🙂

  3. fun card!!
    Thanks for playing with us at Lawnscaping 
    Hope to see you again next challenge
    Xx Tamara

  4. This rocks and I am betting your friend LOVED it! That little flower is so cute and I love the pearls on the strap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

