CASology Week 141-News

Hello…No way!…What?…Uh Huh…Oh Really?

Have you caught up with this week’s news at CASology?  It’s very exciting! You will need to visit my teamies to get the lowdown. My lips are sealed. 😉

I decided to use this large and fabulous Penny Black stamp for this week’s cue.

The idea of a couple of stylish gals using the ol’ string ‘n’ can technique to catch up on ‘the goss’ was too comical to pass up.  Given its intricacy,  I felt it needed simplifying for this purpose.

So, I came up with this:

image

This is quite a swirly whirly sentiment, so to give the eyes some space, I masked out everything else, and used the stylish ladies as embellishments. The gorgeous gals have been die-cut using a circle die, and then added to black circles of the same dimensions to give them a little more definition and shadowing. I liked them popping off the page a little, so foam dots assisted me with that task. A bit of red was added here and there, and then it was done!

What do you think?

As this card is predominantly black and white, I am linking it to:
Less is More Colour Challenge Week 218: Predominantly Black

As  I am playing with dimension to add interest, but in a CAS way, I am linking this card to:
Virginia’s View Challenge #14: Layers & Dimensions

I also think it’s cute, so I have also linked it to:
Addicted to CAS: Cute

 

Thanks for popping by!

Please also pop by the rest of the Design Team and say ‘hi!’ The Alley Way Stamps is sponsoring this week, so you must play along!

-Hazel-

18 thoughts on “CASology Week 141-News

  1. Hazel!!!! Oh my goodness this is just spectacular! LOve what you’ve done with the sentiment… perfection, you clever girl, you…
    =] Michele

  2. Cute, clever and fun Hazel.
    I spotted your card at CASology but thrilled you’ve linked up at LIM too.
    Thanks so much for sharing and taking part.
    Sarah xx
    Less is More

  3. Oh, this is brilliant. That stamp is so adorable, it would have looked great as-is, but I love how you have taken it up a notch with your fabulous design.

  4. I think this was my favourite in the CASology DT gallery for the News week. So clever and sassy! Love how you broke down the stamp and reworked it. I never think to do that but it looks awesome and gives so much mileage to each stamp!

Leave a Reply

