CASology Week 140: Spring

Hi all!

Here’s a CASology cue bound to have you darting to your craft room and leaping into action:

How will you interpret it?

I was inspired by the idea of a ‘Spring Chicken’, particularly in reference to celebrating an ‘ageless’ birthday.  Aren’t we all?? This sent me on a spring chicken reconnaissance, which ended when I came across  these  little guys. Spring Chicken Cake Pops by Bakerella.  Aren’t they too cute??

Easter Cake Pops

I am hoping that my paper version is my salvation, as I can’t claim any success in the real cake pop department!

So, here goes…

image

I am including my spring chicken cake pop card ‘recipe’, for those so inclined (a little different to Bakerella’s, and not as delicious, however…). They are easy to replicate:

  • Body – 1 1/4 ” circle punch from Stampin’ Up!, which I used as a stencil, and sponged the body in yellow.
  • Wings and feet – small outline heart stamp from Lawn Fawn’s ‘Life is Good’ stamp-set. Coloured in yellow and orange, respectively.
  • Flower: ‘splodge’ (my name for it) stamp from Paper Smooches’ Free Spirits’ set. Clear embossed for added shine, and a teeny blue rhinestone in the centre for a touch of bling.
  • Beak, eyes, hair & spring: hand-drawn.
  • Grass – a grass stamp from a fabulously vintage Stampin’ Up set called ‘Roughing It’ (from 1998!!)
  • Sentiment – Brother P-touch label maker.

While I was on a roll, I stamped the inside too:

image

I created my ‘butterfly’ using a couple of sweet heart stamps and sentiment from Waffle Flower’s ever versatile ‘Bowtiful’ stamp set.

A bit of a mixed bag, isn’t it? However, it was satisfying to stretch my stamps to create this card.

Please visit the rest of the Design Team and check out what amazing inspiration they have in store for you:

Gillian Ross

Hazel Hodgkins

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kimberly Wiener

Kymona Tracey

May Park

Melissa Chipperfield

Tracey McNeely

Guest Designer: Yuliya

Thanks for visiting, and I will see you in the gallery for your Spring creations!

-Hazel-

 

12 thoughts on “CASology Week 140: Spring

  1. This card is so cute. Love love your spring chicken. Especially the actual spring. You know, I have looked at so many cake pop pictures, but never actually made one myself. Perhaps this spring, inspired by your card…

  2. Well done putting all your bits n bobs together to make this little cutie!! It turned out beautifully and he looks so ‘springy’!! I have a few ideas for my spring card but no time to sit and create yet…hopefully when everyone is asleep in a few hours…….

  3. This is WAY too cute, Hazel! What a great idea…a spring chicken! 🙂 Like you, I have not had much success with cake pops even though I’ve tried a couple times to entertain the kids! 😉

Leave a Reply

