CASology Week 139-Style

Hi everyone!

Back again with another CASology cue for you:

I recently purchased this funky, chunky, very retro-feel quote stamp on good ol’ fashioned rubber, and thought that it would be PERFECT for this stylish Challenge. I really like the sentiment.

image

So, in terms of style, does it conjure up images of Hot Chocolate (the band), velvet, corduroy flares, avocado green/pumpkin orange kitchens, mosaic tiled bathrooms? (Perhaps not!)

Anyway, as this is quite a text-heavy chunky-fonted sentiment,  I would be in danger of making it too busy for a CAS card if I added any other images. I did need to add the retro patterned paper, don’t you think? Just wanted to drive that seventies theme home a little more. 😉

So, there you have it! Very  quick, very simple this week. I will also be linking in with Darnell’s NBUS Challenge, as this is a new stamp for me!

Please check out what the rest of the Design Team has in store for you, and then show us your style! Our sponsor this week is Whimsy Stamps! Check the CASology blog for details.

Finally, massive apologies must continue regarding the poor photography. I usually photograph my cards in the bayview window depicted here, however, my sons got here first:

image

Yes, that’s Lego strewn all over the carpet, and I will do myself an injury if I try and get anywhere near that window. Guess what they will be doing when they get home?!? By the time it’s been cleaned up, I will have missed the ‘good’ light.  In the meantime, you are stuck with my over-exposed photos, from the kitchen this time!

As always, thanks for visiting, and I will see you in the gallery! 🙂

-Hazel-

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Very Vanilla; Retro Fresh DSP (SU!)
  • Stamp: Friends (DDQS010-Darkroom Door Quote Stamp)
  • Ink: Baked Brown Sugar; Tangerine Tango (SU!)
  • Other: Foam tape; Paper rounder (SU!)

 

12 thoughts on “CASology Week 139-Style

  1. Wow, that is a LOT of Lego!! LOL! And yes, nothing worse than stepping on Lego with bare feet. I loved Lego when I was a kid. It even won me a trip to Legoland in Denmark! Anyway about your card – awesome sentiment especially with the orange “style” and that paper is so groovy! 🙂

  2. Love your subways art Hazel–great way to showcase STYLE. Oh I remember Lego days, not pleasant to step on for sure!

  3. Great card for the “style” challenge…nicely done!
    Your pic brought back memories of my daughter’s lego’s all over the floor, and me trying to tip toe through them.
    I got even though, I bought my grandchildren lots of legos….smile.

  4. Fabulous card. Love how you matched that retro sentiment with retro paper. And, I do like seeing all those Legos on the floor. Wasn’t too long ago that my house looked just like that. Enjoy!

  5. Ha! Please don’t injure yourself trying to step over those Legos…they have some sharp edges! I love your card and your whole post…having grown up in the 70’s, I laughed at your descriptive options! The retro paper you used with that fun, chunky sentiment is perfect…and still very CAS. Great job, Hazel! 🙂

  6. Before I forget, Hazel, I have to say your Lego scene looks like the grandtwins’ play space when they get out their tons of Legos from gifts to them and from the ones we saved of their father’s. It’s amazing what they can build with them! (Love that gorgeous view out the window!)

    I don’t know about these younger ladies, but I totally related to your awesome card! I had all those iconic things: harvest gold appliances, olive green shag carpet, Formica countertops. Your card captured the essence of that style perfectly!! Thank you so much for entering it in my NBUS Challenge #4!! Hugs, Darnell

  7. Ah the joys of standing on Lego!! I think we’ve all done that, especially at night, in the dark, on the way to the toilet….. What a brilliant stamp and it totally goes with that fab retro paper. So perfect for the challenge. I’m trying to catch up on my emails and comments, so will reply to your email asap!!

Leave a Reply

