Let’s Catch Up

Hi Everyone!

I felt compelled to share a card I made this week thanks to some fantastic inspiration from Online Card Classes Clean & Simple Techniques Made Simple 4. I am certainly getting a lot out of this class! It’s my first one ever, and I have fallen in love with what’s referred to as the ‘faux ceramic tile’ technique. I suspect you will see quite a few cards featuring this technique in the coming weeks!

image

So this is my card! I just love the rich, thick embossed surface that looks so tile-like!

image

In a nutshell, the technique involves partially die-cutting thick coaster board or ‘inchies’. I didn’t have inchies/coasterboard, but I did have old postcards lying around, which I circular die-cut three times,  then glued together. I then used a teapot die to create my ‘indented’ main image.  The teapot was then masked with a die-cut post-it note and the background inked in blue.

And then came the FUN PART! Heat embossing!!

I removed the teapot mask, smeared my versa-mark pad across the entire image and then heat-embossed using a pearly transparent embossing powder. I repeated that process twice, which gave me a really gorgeous, thick pearly lustre. A super technique for a ceramic teapot!

My circle ’tile’ was then mounted onto some Sahara Sand cardstock, and a die-cut ring of orange added to accentuate the blue. I stamped the sentiment in black. And then, quite out of character for me, I found the biggest ceramic winter rose in my stash to adorn the centre of the teapot. And then it was done!

I thoroughly recommend this class! This is one of many amazing techniques!! I am entering my card in the following Challenges:

Uniko Studio January Challenge: Love & Friendship: I think this qualifies as a friendship card!

Addicted to Stamps & More: Where the Challenge is ‘Anything CAS’.

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge: Anything Goes.

Happy Little Stamper’s  January Sketch Challenge:

HLS January Sketch Challenge

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Sahara Sand; Tangerine Tango (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Stamps: My Cup of Tea (Clearly Besotted)
  • Dies: QuicKutz nesting circles; My Cup of Tea Die Collection (Clearly Besotted)
  • Ink: Versa-Mark; Tuxedo Black (Memento); Midnight (ColourBox)
  • Embossing Powder: Plum Pearls (Stamp-n Stuff)
  • Glue: Tombo Mono multi-purpose adhesive
  • Embellishment: White Florals (DIYiinvitations)
  • Other: sponges
14 thoughts on “Let’s Catch Up

  1. What a fun technique. I love your take on the sketch! Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers and ATSM xx

  2. So glad your enjoying the class, wish I had been able too as well! This technique looks incredible. I saw another card with this but they didn’t say how it was done, so thanks for letting us know. Its so lovely and shiny, how did Julie come up with this I wonder?? You’ve got this technique nailed and can’t wait to see more of your homework!

  3. Gorgeous card!! I’m in the same Online Class and am learning a lot too!! This is a great technique! Thanks for playing with at Addicted to Stamps and More!!

  4. Wowzers ! Hazel, even I loved this technique by Julie and I think you’ve nailed it. :)Your card looks awesome. So glad to see you are trying out the techniques from OCC. I want to try them out too.

  5. Online Card Classes are so great. I’m not taking this one, but I love that technique. What a fabulous result. I love that you added the cabochon too.

  6. You did an amazing job with this technique, it really does look like a ceramic tile! I took the class too, but have not attempted yet…thanks for the inspiration.

  7. This is a stunner, Hazel! Love the orange and blue and the fabulous shine! I keep seeing this tile technique around and am regretting not having signed up for the class.

Leave a Reply

