CASology Week#129 NBUS

Here at CASology this week, we are combining Challenges with our good friend Darnell Knauss’, who runs the ever-popular NBUS Challenge.

Week 129 - NBUS

For those unfamiliar with the term NBUS, it’s the acronym for ‘Never Before Used Stuff’.  Darnell’s Challenge encourages us to dust off that ‘never-before-used-schtuff’ and create some magic.

I must admit, I don’t own a lot of stash, so was worried that I wouldn’t be able to meet the brief. But sure enough, after some sorting, I found this ‘schtuff’:

image

My NBUS stash: a grass die, a zebra stencil and a new-to-me (though extraordinarily ancient) tri-colour ink pad.

So, I set myself the challenge of using them. All. At once.

Here is the result:

image

A kaleidoscopic zebra peeping out from behind some grass. One of a kind! Does it meet the brief? I think so! Is it a little zany? Probably! Will you remember it? I hope so.

Sometimes a little zany can go a long way on a CAS card.

Make sure you check out what the rest of the Design Team has to offer, then pull out those NBUS items and set them to work.

Ardyth Percy-Robb

Gillian Ross

Hazel Hodgkins (that’s me!)

Jen Wills

Joyce Mehrberg

Judy Marino

Kimberly Wiener

Kymona Tracey

May Park

Melissa Chipperfield

Tracey McNeely

And our very special Guest Designer: Darnell

Looking forward to your creations! Make sure you link-up your creations at Darnell‘s blog too!

Thanks for stopping by!

Materials used:

  • Cardstock: Whisper White; Old Olive (Stampin’ Up!)
  • Ink: Tuxedo Black; Primary Ink Pad (The Rubber Stamp Factory)
  • Stamp: KaiserCraft Mini Clear Stamps CS923 Thanks
  • Stencil: Zebra 621-06 (P&A Craft)
  • Die: Fresh Grass Die (Clearly Besotted)
18 thoughts on “CASology Week#129 NBUS

  1. Gosh, you are a wizard, Hazel! This was like a card version of the food show Chopped where you create with whatever is given to you, which is so fascinating! And what you created is magnificent! What can be more unique than a kaleidoscopic zebra?! I just love it! And I loved joining our challenges and having the honor of playing with you! I’d love to have you link your card to my NBUS Challenge! Enjoy your day! Hugs, Darnell

  2. You set the bar high for yourself, and completely succeeded. This is zany, memorable, and fun. And if that is really all the NBUS you have, you need to go shopping!!

  3. I love this card. I saw one a long time ago with a group of cows, one strangely colored. with the same sentiment you used. I’ve always remembered it because it speaks to how special each individual is.

  4. Hazel, your zebra card is my favourite DT card this week! I love how the zebra is partially off the page and the rainbow colours are so fun! You rocked this challenge!

  5. Wow!! This is a show stopper!! I love the zebra so much better than a plain Jane black and white one! : ) I bet you’ve got God rethinking his decision on this one heeheehee

    Patti

Leave a Reply

