Simply the best

Ok, so I look at my card now, and all I hear is the chorus of Tina Turner’s immortal song ringing in my ears. Not what I had in mind while designing this card originally. I can assure you that CASology’s cue word ‘Eat’ was firmly at the forefront of my mind. Truly!

Week 123 - Eat

My sons love to eat strawberries! And at this time of the year, strawberries are in abundance for us! Hence the inspiration behind this card.

image

Cardstock: Melon Mambo; Whisper White; Crumb Cake (SU!). Ink: Melon Mambo, Forest Foliage, Memento Tuxedo Black (SU!). Stamps: Free Spirits (Paper Smooches); Thank you (KaiserCraft Mini CS923); In Stitches: Christmas (Clearly Besotted). Dies: In Stitches: Christmas Die Collection; Tag Along Die Collection (Clearly Besotted). Other: Pearls (KaiserCraft Christmas); Wink of Stella (Zig)

 

This was fun and quick to make. I drew a strawberry shape onto some scrap paper to create a stencil. I then washi-taped the stencil to a white panel and stamped strawberries (Paper Smooches-Free Spirits) into the negative space.

The sentiment is an oldie but a goodie from Kaisercraft. I stamped it onto some kraft card that I die-cut using Clearly Besotted’s Tag Along Die Collection. This was tucked under the foliage.

I created the foliage using the underside of a stamp from Clearly Besotted’s In Stitches Christmas set (Rudolph’s tummy, I think?). The foliage was then fussy cut, Wink of Stella’d and popped up with a dimensional. Some pearls were added to the centre, and it was done!

Ciao for now!

-Hazel-

 

9 thoughts on “Simply the best

  1. Your card looks good enough to eat – such a beautiful strawberry:) Thankyou for the lovely comments that you left on my blog and I really look forward to seeing more of your gorgeous cards – hugs xx

  2. Isn’t it funny, for some reason I thought that maybe you lived in the U.S. but now that you say you have strawberries everywhere, I’m thinking your closer to me than I thought. I’m in New Zealand and have a strawberry patch that has absolutely exploded this year. My son Max (8yrs) would eat them till he exploded so he is in heaven. I’m counting down the weeks till the dark red cherries are ready (about 2 wks to go). We have a lot of cherry farms in our town, so I go along to ‘Pick your own’ and eat WAY more than I pay for. Anyway (sorry about that fruit ramble…), I think your card is absolutely scrummy and so creative. Makes me want to wander out to the patch now to see if I can get some strawbs but its midnight and don’t want to fight with the snails and slugs!!

  3. I love the clever idea of using the little strawberries to make a big one! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  4. Your strawberry strawberry is awesome, Hazel!! Such a fun design and I love the way you attached the sentiment. Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

Leave a Reply

