Hooray!

Just popping in with a quick post today, inspired by CASology’s cue word, Flag.

I have a couple of littlies’ birthdays coming up, and when I saw the cue word, the choice was easy.


Week 122 - Flag

Here is my take:

image

You may not be able to see it from the photo, but it’s a ‘mini’ card this week: 3″ x 4 1/4″.

This gorgeous little fox and his flag is from ‘Storybook Friends’, a retired SU stamp set on loan from a friend. I love every one of the characters in this set, and think they look so gorgeous on water-colour paper.

To create my card, I stamped the fox image onto water colour paper in Soft Suede, then used a wet brush to soften the lines and colour him in. I paper-pieced some orange-coloured paper into the flag to give it more attention. I didn’t have the patterned paper I wanted, so stamped some scrap with a dotty flower stamp in Tangerine Tango, and cut out the piece from that. The number ‘3’ is die-cut from ‘L’il Inker Designs Mixed & Stitched Numbers.

I had this whole ‘woodland creatures’ theme going on in my head, so I couldn’t resist a wood grain layer in the middle. Finally,  I mounted it all onto some lovely saffron cardstock, wrapped it with a little twine, and was done!

image

Cardstock: So Saffron, Crumb Cake, Marina Mist, Watercolour Paper (SU). Ink: Soft Suede, Early Espresso, Tangerine Tango. Dies: Mixed & Stitched Numbers (L’il Inker Designs) Other: Twine (Primio-American Crafts) , Paper Rounder (SU). Stamps: Story book Friends (SU), Woodgrain (KaiserCraft)

 

I haven’t photographed it, but there is a gorgeous little envelope that goes with this mini card. It makes a really sweet ensemble!

Thanks for visiting!

6 thoughts on “Hooray!

  1. Wow, this is amazing! I love the soft watercolored outline and image colors, so beautiful! I can see why you love that stamp…its amazing, like straight from a children’s book! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  2. I love the “Potter-esque” feel of the fox – very storybook! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  3. I love the way you gently coloured this little guy, Hazel, and the woodgrain really brings the theme together. Thanks for sharing with us at CASology, Anita x (Guest Designer)

  4. Hazel, your little fox is adorable! Your watercolouring is gorgeous and I love the paper pieced flag. Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

Leave a Reply

