Be Merry

While in the festive spirit, I made another festive card to enter into the following Challenges:

MUSE Challenge#93

CASology Week# 121-Festive

Virginia’s View Challenge#9-All Things Metallic

I was SO inspired by Therese Calvird’s amazing card that I find myself entering the MUSE challenge and CASology Challenge twice.

Here is Therese’s card:


Happy Christmas

This card has all the card elements that I just ADORE: it’s extremely CAS, one-layer, graphic and uses my favourite mediums: inking and a stencil!

Sooo, here is my MUSE take (again!)

image

Stamps: WTF-CASual Fridays; Be Merry Wooden Christmas stamp (Riot). Inks: Old Olive; Versa-Mark; Real Red (SU); Markers: Real Red; Coastal Cabana; Daffodil Delight; Pumpkin Pie; Wink of Stella. Other: Silver Detail Embossing Powder (All Night Media); Embossing Buddy; Sponges (SU).

I hand cut a triangle out of some scrap card and lightly sponged the outline of the ‘tree’ in Old Olive, thus outlining the negative space. I first tried this technique in my Inter-Galactic card here, and this card inspired me to try it again.

I then masked the outline with post-its and used a border stamp from CASual Fridays WTF stampset to create my ‘baubles’. I heat-embossed this in silver and then used markers to colour-in/outline the circles. I finally stamped my ‘Be Merry’ sentiment in red, and that was it!

Thanks for visiting!

11 thoughts on “Be Merry

  1. This is a brilliant take on Therese’s card. I just discovered this technique myself using a circle stamp. It looks so good with the border stamp across the tree negative. Your so clever!! And so sorry to hear your stuck at home with the flu, nothing worse when its nice outside but thank goodness it took hold on a Saturday so hubby can take over. Hope you can relax, watch a few dvd’s and maybe make a card or two…..

  2. You and CAS card is best friend forever…Hazel give me tip to make a simple and adorable card cause I see you are tge queen on Casology challenge each time your card for me also the winner…you are clever CAS lady this card no exception love all in here ..widh you luck sweety and dont feel shy to visit me..I so happy if you do that..hugs..Monika

Leave a Reply

