Time to relax

 

This card has been inspired by two challenges:  CASology’s cue word ‘Sea’ and AAA Cards ‘Playing with Watercolour’.

Week 120 - Sea

 

AAAcards27I have been having so much fun playing with watercolour this week, and the ‘sea’ seemed the perfect imagery for it! Admittedly, I got a little carried away with this one. It was originally only going to be blue and white. But then I decided I needed a shoreline, and then some sand, and then a sunset, and then some elements on the sand and then some birds in the sky… yes, it evolved beyond the brief. Nonetheless, it was fun to make.

My take:

image

Cardstock: Watercolour 300gsm medium tooth (Eraldo di Paolo) Inks: Coastal Cabana; Island Indigo; Night of Navy; Sahara Sand; Soft Suede; Baked Brown Sugar; Pumpkin Pie; Tangerine Tango; Daffodil Delight (SU); Versa-Mark. Markers: Pistachio Pudding; Real Red; Coastal Cabana; Baked Brown Sugar; Chalk Marker (SU) Stamp: Time to Relax (CB) Other: Paintbrushes #1 & 10 (WestArt Imitation Sable); Heat tool; White Embossing Powder (SU) Foam tape

I started by applying my darker blues near the horizon, and applied lighter tones as I approached the shoreline. I then left a white ‘space’ to signify the sea foam before I applied my browns.

Originally, the sky was pale blue. It felt a bit cold, so I decided to add a sunset. It felt far more balmy after that, so an umbrella and beach ball were added to the foreground, and some birds to the background, with the aid of my markers. I waited for my paper to dry before adding those. Some white highlights were added to the beach ball and umbrella with my Chalk Marker. I was soooo tempted to add some Wink of Stella, but refrained at the last minute.

Once everything was dry, I added the sentiment with Versamark and heat embossed it.

The panel was then mounted to my base card with some foam tape. It took three attempts to line it up straight, but we won’t dwell on that.

There are definitely things that I would do differently next time, but overall, I am happy with the result. I know I’ve said it before, but I love the unpredictability of the water colour technique. I love that you can re-create the same piece with relative ease, but know that each one will be unique as a result of the medium you have used to create it.

Thanks for visiting!

image

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Time to relax

  1. I saw your gorgeous card at AAA Cards Hazel and had to come over to have a closer look. Absolutely stunning! I love your fantastic idea of leaving a white area for the seam foam – totally inspired and will try to do that the next time I play with my paints and stamps Karen P

  2. Wow, what an artist you are!! I wouldn’t even know where to start to do something like this, it really is beautiful. I like the watercolour look too but I’m not very confident with it, need lots more practice. What a shame you don’t live around the corner, I’m sure you could give me a lot of tips!!

  3. A beautiful scene, Hazel – you are obviously a pro with the watercolours! I feel like I am somewhere warm and relaxed rather than a dull November day with a pile of ironing to do 🙂

  4. So Glad I see some lovelly watercolor!!! I LOVE the entire message and vision here, just terrific. Especially it is a little nippy this morning for me, so thie card warms me right up!! Thanks for joining CASology, I hope your weekend is GREAT!.
    …..Perfection for the AAA challenge too! Hoorah!

  5. Beautiful – I love the washes of colour, they are truly relaxing! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  6. Hazel, your watercolored scene is stunning…I love the warm sky and the adorable little umbrella and beach ball in the corner! Thanks for joining us at CASology!

  7. Hazel, this little scene you created is absolutely gorgeous! I love the warm colours and the sweet little details! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  8. This is always such a fun scene to create and everyone does it so wonderfully different. I love the way yours turned out, and the mounting sets the image off very nicely! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at AAA Cards. Cheers, Victoria Lavender

Leave a Reply

