Bah humbug!

My card today has been inspired by CASology’s #117 cue word Candy, and my layout by CTS#96. And as it is a CAS card, I am also linking this to Virginia View’s Clean & Simple Challenge # 8.

Week 117 - Candy

‘Candy’ always makes me think of old fashioned hard-boiled sweets. The ones that come in a variety of shapes, colours and aromas, and always look so pretty in glass bottles and canisters. Despite their jewel-like appearance,  I am not so fond of eating them.

Sadly, humbugs fit into this category also, but aren’t they art worthy?

Photo inspiration:

humbug-candy

Humbug candy – image sourced from a blog called Duirwaigh Studios, and introduced an amazing post on striped ice-bergs! Absolutely stunning! Go visit!!

I thought so, and so they became card worthy also!

image

image

As you can see, (I am SO sorry for the rubbish photography!) I stayed pretty true to the  CTS sketch, as it worked perfectly for what I was trying to achieve.

CTS_96

I used the negative of the Linked Fri-Dies to get my outline for my humbugs. I ended up cutting vertically through the middle of the linked die negative, so that I could reduce the square negative space into more of an oval humbug shape. I then overlaid the die cut cardstock over my black and white striped pattern paper to give the impression of humbugs.

I masked the whimsical border out of the sentiment to maintain a simple, clean and graphic feel. And then I hand-drew the speech bubble… a speech bubble die would have worked wonders for that! (Ahem!)

And that was it!

As always, thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White; Basic Black(Stampin Up!); Black and white striped patterned paper (from my stash)

Ink: Versa-Mark (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamps: Very Merry Tags (Stampin’ Up!)

Accessories: Big Shot;  Linked Fri-Dies (CASual Fridays); Heat tool; White embossing powder (Stampin’ Up!)

Embellishments: Stampin’ Chalk Marker

10 thoughts on “Bah humbug!

  1. Wonderfully inspired card, Hazel!! It is very well done and sophisticated! The sentient makes me smile! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View Clean and Simple Challenge!

  2. Hey Hazel!!! First let me apologize for not stopping by for a while. I’m glad I’m here now. I love your card. The black is beautiful with the candy pieces on the side. I love your candy inspiration for the card. Well done!!

  3. This is a fabulous card. Very clever the way you created those candies and then drew your own speech bubble. Thanks so much for playing along at CASology this week.

Leave a Reply

