Let it snow

The idea of a pink Christmas card is such a novelty! I was keen to make one for a couple of reasons:

JB14-header-PINK copy

This is what I came up with:

image

 

It doesn’t snow where I live. Ever. But I couldn’t go past this gorgeous little snowman from Clearly Besotted! I therefore decided to link this card to the Clearly Besotted Christmas Challenge , and because it’s CAS, to Virginia’s View’s Clean & Simple Challenge also.

I wanted a bit of ‘snow’ in the background, so opted for some polka dot dry-embossing. I stamped the three little stars in pink first, before embossing. I had to go over the stars with a darker pink marker, as unfortunately, my tone-on-tone stamping was a little too light. I then hand-cut a snow panel in white, and embossed the top edge with some sparkly white embossing powder. I first saw this embossing done by Darlene DeVries in this fabulous post and video, and I really like the subtle effect. My little snowman and scarf were  stamped and die-cut, while my hat was stamped and hand-cut. Finally, it was all assembled and Dazzling Diamonds added to the nose and star centres. The sentiment was embossed in silver.

 

image

Overall, I wanted my Christmas card to be reminiscent of pink and white marshmallows. What do you think?

image

Thanks for popping over!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White; Pink Pirouette (Stampin’ Up!)

Ink: Blushing Bride; Basic Gray; Melon Mambo; Versa-Mark (Stampin Up!)

Stamps: In Stitches: Christmas (Clearly Besotted)

Dies: In Stitches: Christmas Die Collection (Clearly Besotted)

Embossing Folder: Perfect Polka Dots (Stampin’ Up!)

Tools: Big Shot; Heat tool (Stampin’ Up!);

Accessories:  Silver Detail Embossing Powder; White Silver Sparkle Embossing Powder (All Night Media); Strawberry Slush Stampin’ Write Marker; Dazzling Detail Silver Sparkle; Dimensionals (Stampin’ Up!); Twine (American Crafts- Primio);  Black Sharpie.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Let it snow

  1. Oh…how I love this in PINK!! I can totally see your vision–marshmallow and pink! GREAT job on building this cute snow scene! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View Clean and Simple Challenge, Hazel!

  2. holy WOW, for someone who’s never made a pink xmas card, you have definitely done a brilliant job on your first try! pink & white marshmallow is DEFINITELY the vibe… but i also love the super-cute stamp and all the pretty details you’ve added that make this even more beautiufl! thanks for “thinking pink” with us at JINGLE BELLES in an awesome cause! ♥

Leave a Reply

