‘Lettuce’ catch up

CASology’s cue word ‘Splatter’ took me back to the endless hours of cleaning up post-meals when my twins began self-feeding.

Week 116 - Splatter

‘Splatter’ so adequately describes the state of the high chairs and floor following meals of mush. I am sure we have all had those head-scratching moments when pumpkin puree is discovered on furniture miles from the meal area. Why…? Where…? HOW… did THAT get there?

Needless to say, the cue word made me feel weary. Until some new stamps arrived. Inspiration returned, and I couldn’t wait to create some splatter with those! So here it is:

image

I decided to go with a gardening theme. I created a mud-splattered background with some diluted brown ink, which I flicked onto the page with a loaded water-colour paintbrush. You can’t harvest veggies without getting mud-splattered gumboots now, can you?

I wanted three elements on my card and the sentiment, with the lettuce taking centre stage. I die-cut the lettuce and popped it up with some dimensionals. Some Wink of Stella was added to the leaves to create a bit of interest.

Finally, I added some mud shadowing around bases of my elements with the aid of a marker and water,  just to ‘ground’ them a little. 🙂  And that’s it.

image

I have to say that this Garden Fresh stamp set from Clearly Besotted is soooooo gorgeous! I have been saving my pennies to buy some new stamps for months now, and when I discovered this set, I could hardly believe my luck! I am having a lot of fun right now playing with all the elements!

Thanks so much for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!)

Ink: Soft Suede; Tangerine Tango; Old Olive; Daffodil Delight; Stazon Black (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamp-set: Garden Fresh (Clearly Besotted)

Tools: Big Shot; Garden Fresh Die Collection (Clearly Besotted)

Adhesive: Dimensionals (Stampin’ Up!)

Accessories: Wink of Stella-clear pen (Zig); Baked Brown Sugar Stampin’ Write marker (Stampin’ Up!); Water colour paint brush

 

2 thoughts on “‘Lettuce’ catch up

  1. Hazel, super FUN, cute too, this would be perfect for my sister that gardens rain or shine!!! She would adore this!! YAY, I love it too! Thanks for sharing with us, and popping by my blog too, appreciate it tons! Have a crafty rest of the week!!!

Leave a Reply

