{Chocolate} spoon love

I was inspired by a couple of competitions this week.  CASology  had me at ‘Chocolate’ and Virginia’s View at ‘Clean & Simple’. Perfect combination for me!

Week 115 - Chocolate

Photo inspiration:

Chocolate+Spoons++++12_jpg

I have a confession. This little coffee spoon card had been sitting around, half-finished, for weeks. The little card was missing something, and I couldn’t work out what it needed. It wasn’t until this week’s cue word arrived that the answer became abundantly clear. Chocolate! Of course! What else?

image

I used a coffee spoon stencil for the main image, embossed it in silver to give it some lustre, then paper-pieced some brown cardstock to create my ‘chocolate’. I wanted the chocolate to look thick, smooth and shiny, and Crystal Effects (applied very thickly!) gave it the dimension it needed. I added the embellishments before lacquering so that they appeared ‘inset’. The little punched-out heart is lacquered also, and looks very sweet indeed.

image

I am a sucker for a pop of red, so my little silver coffee spoon with its red ‘choc’ dots and silver ‘cachous’ feels altogether a bit fancy and just a little festive too.

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Oil Sketch Pad (Eraldo di Paolo); Early Espresso (Stampin’ Up!);

Stencil: Cutlery Set 637-01 (PnA)

Punch: Owl Punch (Stampin’ Up!)

Ink: VersaMark

Accessories: Silver Embossing Powder (Starfish Lane); Heat tool; Crystal Effects (Stampin’ Up!)

Embellishments: Candy dots-Brights, Neutrals; Jewels Basic Pearls (Stampin’ Up!); Primio Twine (American Crafts)

12 thoughts on “{Chocolate} spoon love

  1. This is so clever! I love how you’ve created your chocolatey spoon! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  2. Is this ever COOL!! I love how much your spoon resembling the inspiration photo! I love the glitter and striking colors! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View Clean and Simple Challenge!

  3. I love your creative take on the Cue Card, and how perfectly your spoon reflects the inspiration photo! It really looks like your chocolate is melting…Love it!
    Thank you so much for your sweet comments on my Christmas card! The cardstock is from PTI, and it’s called Blueberry Sky.
    Hope you’re having a really fun World Cardmaking Day!

  4. Hazel, this is brilliant! Such a clever take on the cue word and I love the shine and pops of red. Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  5. Ach I adore this Hazel yojur chocolate really yummy and I can see the glossy there may I try it…looks that its ready to eat..great idea and lovely tiny heart there…I think you will be one of the winner…believe me or not …See you maybe on my Blog dear Hazel as I made also chocolate card 🙂 hugs, Monika

Leave a Reply

