You’re so cute

So, when is a pet rock not a pet rock? When it looks like a potato (apparently!). Confused? Let’s just say that there is much debate at my house over whether I have depicted a rock or a potato in this card. You be the judge.

So, why the fuss? Well, CASology’s cue word for this week is Pet, so I was inspired to pay tribute to my pet rock.

Week 104 - Pet

No, I don’t still have it, and no, it didn’t look like the one on my card. It was a glorified piece of blue metal from the roadside that got wrapped in foil. At this point, it underwent the transformation from pet rock to ‘magic’ rock. (Please tell me that I am not the only kid in the universe to ever have done this!) I will save you from the many magical adventures I shared with my pet rock, suffice to say it was a short but significant chapter in my pet-owning life! 😉

Anyway, my magic rock wouldn’t have translated well on a card, but I thought these little guys would:

Photo Inspiration:

How cute are they??

I actually sourced them from this blog , and thought the accompanying post (and insufferably cute little pigeon) was a hoot!

So FINALLY, here is my take:

Pet rock

Actually, it’s my fourth take! The first was in my sketch book (and of course, that turned out perfectly!). I smudged the sentiment in my second attempt, I wasn’t happy with heart placement in my third effort, and finally we have a winner!

 

I don’t have a rock stamp, although I know Waffle Flower has a really cute one! To create mine, I hand drew a rock  mask on a sticky note, before inking the negative space and adding the necessary embellishments (he HAD to have googly eyes!)

image

Some say ‘rock’, some say ‘potato’. Either way, I love him!

Thanks for popping by!

 

Materials used:

Cardstock: Sahara Sand; Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!)

Ink: Sahara Sand; Basic Black: Basic Gray; Real Red (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamp set: sentiment from Bowtiful stamp set (Waffle Flower)

Adhesive: Dimensionals; Tombo

Accessories: Googly eyes; Sponges; Crystal Effects (Stampin’ Up!): Twine (American Crafts); Black Sharpie

 

22 thoughts on “You’re so cute

  1. But, of course!!! I’m having a “Why didn’t I think of that?” moment right now! This is fantastic! And to think you created this without a stamp…pure creative genius you are! 🙂
    Thanks so much for joining us at CASology!

  2. So glad someone did a pet rock – this was my daughter’s first suggestion and you nailed it! Love the shading and the cute face! So glad you joined us at CASology!

  3. LOL! I hate when that happens. I made a teapot card but my mom was certain it was a magic lamp… Anyway I think your pet rock looks fantastic and was worth all the attempts. A fabulous CAS card and it gave me a good giggle! 🙂 Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  4. I KNEW it was a pet rock! Ha! Clever and fun! (Although I’m chuckling that your family thought it resembled a potato!) So adorable and very creative! Thanks for joining us at CASology!

  5. Hey Hazel!! I love your “pet’ rock. It looks like a rock and not a potato to me. You were really creative with this. Wow, four tries to get this card perfect, that’s dedication. Look, Zoe on Sesame Street has a pet rock and she talks to it, lol.
    You did an amazing job on this card.

  6. Potato or rock?? I think definitely a rock but hey, you never know if there is a kid out there with a pet potato???? This is so simple and cute. And boy do you have good cutting hands to have cut that out for the negative. I cut like a 2yr old!! Glad to know I’m not the only one to muck up 2 or 3 different cards till I finally get one I like. I think this is a winner!!

  7. Huge congrats with your Casology win Hazel! What a great idea for the cue word! Your pet rock is adorable (and definitely not a potato)

Leave a Reply

