I’m here for you

It has been a week of pensive contemplation. I am grateful to reach the end of it! I am looking forward to a sunnier week ahead!

Friday was the culmination of a difficult week! I definitely had the opposite of the Midas touch, you know, when everything you touch turns into the proverbial!  I had to laugh, ironically, when I saw CASology’s cue word:

Week 103 - Glow

It seemed altogether appropriate!

Anyway, here is my take:

image

image

I remember Kymona saying once that she loved the freedom of watercolour, and I have to agree with her! I wanted my little lantern to glow, but in the unrestrained, unpredictable way that watercolour enables. After stamping my image, I heavily spritzed the lower third of my paper before dripping a drop of Daffodil Delight re-inker onto my lantern. I love the explosive profusion of colour as the ink hits the paper. Where it stops, nobody knows! Another drip of re-inker was added to intensify colour within and immediately around the lantern. Finally, a smidge of Pumpkin Pie ink was added to the centre of my lantern with the aid of a paintbrush.

And that’s it! Hope you like!

 

With an hour to spare, I have also entered it into the AAA Challenge for ‘Playing with Water Colors’

AAA Watercolours Challenge

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up!, unless otherwise specified)

Cardstock: watercolour; basic black
Ink: Daffodil Delight; Pumpkin Pie; Stazon black
Stamps: Roughing It (retired); Petite Pairs
Adhesive: Dimensionals
Accessories: Water sprayer; Paintbrush (my stash)

11 thoughts on “I’m here for you

  1. You’re so right the unpredictability of watercolour is absolutely part of its charm. Thanks for playing at AAA Cards this week. Hope to see you again next week.

  2. Hazel, so GLAD you joined us, always always love seeing your creations!!!
    Thanks for joining us at CASology!!

  3. Another stunner, Hazel! The glow you created around your lantern is so perfect! I’m going to have to get a bit more brave with watercolors I think. 🙂 Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  4. Hazel, the glow of this lantern is absolutely beautiful! What a neat technique…will have to try! Thanks for joining us this week at CASology!

  5. Hey Hazel! First let me say thank you so much for mentioning me in your post. I really appreciate it. Second, your card is amazing. I love the lantern and the water-coloring. Its so pretty. Water-coloring is fun but it also always your creation to look different each and every time. I love the sentiment. It’s very fitting with the lantern. It tells me that your door is always open because your light is inviting. Amazing job.

Leave a Reply

