Hello

Or should I say, ‘Ahoy there!’

CASology’s cue word this week is:

Week 102 - Float

Loads of ideas passed through my head: bubbles, clouds, thought bubbles, boats, beach balls, balloons, butterflies (all the ‘b’ common nouns, so my son would tell me). Too many ideas, not enough stamps!

So, I improvised (always a little dangerous!).

While drawing with my little boys around the craft table, I picked this up and looked at it with new eyes:

image

A Tuppertoys stencil from 1987!!!Positively vintage! 😉  Don’t ask how I came to be in possession of this awesome stencil (I could write a post alone on that), but suffice to say that we have several of these Tuppertoy stencils, and they are FANTASTIC!!!

As you can see, I had a sail boat AND a ship to choose from. Sailboats won out!

image

I traced onto chevron paper, fussy cut, then paper-pieced onto my white cardstock. I like how the chevron mimics the motion of the ocean. I wanted to add just a bit of bling to my sail, so a shiny, subtly sparkly red star was added to the sail:

image

I then stamped my sentiment in red to maintain a nautical theme.

And that’s it! A very simple entry this week, that was fun to make!

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White & Cherry Cobbler (Stampin’ Up!); Party boys textured cardstock stack (Merci)

Ink: Real Red (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamp set: Bowtiful (Waffle Flower)

Stencil: Tuppertoys (1987!)

Adhesive: Tombo (Stampin’ Up!)

Embellishments: Crystal Effects; Dazzlin’ Diamonds glitter (Stampin’ Up!)

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Hey Hazel, I love your take on the cue word. Your sail boat is really floating. I love how you use the pattern paper to create the boat. Amazing idea and out of the box. Love it.

  2. Brilliant, Hazel! The chevrons were the perfect choice for your sweet little boat and I love the red star! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  3. Ah HA! Hazel, I love that you traced the stencil shape onto patterned paper and fussy cut that cute little boat! A perfect take on the cue this week at CASology…thanks for joining in the fun!

  4. Wow, I thought you used a die to create a boat. What a creative use of a vintage yet cool stencil. Love this!!! Thanks so much for playing with us at CASology.

  5. Oh my. I have that same stencil!!! When my grandparents passed away, I kept the stencils as a memento! 🙂 Now my boys use them!
    Love the patterned sail boat…my favorite…chevron! 🙂
    Thanks so much for joining us at CASology!

Leave a Reply

