Be Happy

This is my foray into the AAA Card Challenge, and it is a cracker! How could anyone pass up the MacGyver Challenge?

MacGiver01

As a kid, I absolutely LOVED MacGyver (even his daggy mullet), so as a tribute to this great show of the 80’s and Richard Dean Anderson’s hairdo, I had to play along!

Here is my take, inspired by some design techniques used by the amazing Amy Tsuruta here and Julie Day here.

image

I think that it’s clear to see where the string, stamp and corrugated paper are. What might not be so obvious is the hole and the plastic: the string centre of my flower has been stuck to the orange base card, through a hole punched into the white cardstock. As for the plastic, I have taken some artistic licence and extended it to include the ‘enamel’ dot at the centre of my flower.

image

I had great fun stamping my ‘petals’. They are not actually petals at all! They are the bucket ‘filling’ in Waffle Flower’s super fun Hey Mr stamp set. The bucket ‘petal’ makes a great pattern, so I am also entering this card into the Waffle Flower technique challenge for June/July – Stamp a Pattern:

Waffle-Flower-Challenge-Technique-2014-06

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Tangerine Tango; Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!); Gold corrugated paper (my stash)

Ink: Tangerine Tango; Daffodil Delight; Stazon Black (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamp sets: Hey Mr; Bowtiful (Waffle Flower)

Punch: 1 1/4″ circle (Stampin’ Up!)

Accessories: JAC Adhesive paper (my stash)

Embellishments: Candy dots – Brights (Stampin’ Up!); Orange Twine (American Crafts)

 

9 thoughts on “Be Happy

  1. Your first visit and it’s also The MacGyver Challenge! Wasn’t this fun! You did a great job MacGyvering your card from the 5 elements. Thanks for sharing with us. Wishing you a happy week! Cheers, Victoria Lavender, AAA Cards

  2. Hazel I am so glad to see your fabulous card in our gallery at AAA cards this week!
    Thanks so much for joining the fun at AAA cards!

  3. Love that bright, beautiful flower! So glad that you were able to play along with the Waffle Flower challenge!

Leave a Reply

