Summer Lovin’

Couldn’t wait to join in with this month’s challenge at CASual Fridays.

CFC133-Summer Lovin

I had the very good fortune to attend the stage production of ‘Grease’ yesterday, and have had the song ‘Summer Lovin’ going round in my head ever since! It was a timely coincidence!

The theme is to combine summer colours with love hearts. I am totally inspired!

Here is my take:

image

sunset close up

Silhouetted love balloons against a summer ocean sunset! A really dreamy thought, given the rather bleak, colourless and cold weather we are experiencing!

I hand-cut a heart-shaped stencil out of some scrap, hence the shabby outline. I then sponged the inside using a variety of  ‘summery’ colours  to create the ocean and sunset. In truth, I wasn’t expecting the outline to look so rough-cut when I removed the stencil, but decided that I really liked the effect! One of those ‘happy accidents!’

I then stamped the sentiment and love hearts to create balloons. The hearts were outline only, so I needed to fill them in with a black marker to make them silhouettes. I then used a fine line marker to extend the strings and create little ties.

I wish I had some clear Wink of Stella! Are they back in stock? Anywhere?? I think it would have added a nice ‘glint’ to the ocean. Hoping the reflection of the sun on the water provides enough interest.

And, that’s it! A CAS, one layer, colourful card. A tribute to summer from the heart of winter.

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up!, unless otherwise specified)

Cardstock: Whisper White; scrap for stencil and masking

Ink: Daffodil Delight; Pumpkin Pie; Coastal Cabana; Basic Gray; Bliss Blue (retired); Positively Pink (retired); Stazon black

Stamp: Short & Sweet (retired)

Punch: Paper rounder; 1 1/4″ circle (to create mask for sunset)

Accessories: Artline marker 204 (black 0.4); Artline marker 210 medium (black 0.6)

 

 

10 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’

  1. Oh wow! I love this idea – the masking helps preserve white space and adds an even more romantic feeling to your gorgeous sun set! So glad you joined us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  2. Oh, how pretty! What a neat idea!!! Thanks so much for playing along with the Summer Lovin’ Challenge with summer colors and hearts at CAS-ual Fridays!

  3. Love your stenciled heart in summertime colors!
    Thanks for linking this up to CASual Fridays!

  4. You are amazing at CAS…some thing that many of us struggle! (Atleast me)…thank you for visisting my blog and appreciating my work.

Leave a Reply

