Happy Anniversary!

 CASology’s cue word is timely (although I almost didn’t make the deadline this week!!).

My parents celebrate their 42nd wedding anniversary in a fortnight, so I got the opportunity to make them their anniversary card in advance!

Week 99 - Anniversary

Here is my take on the challenge:

Happy anniversary

To be completely corny (nothing new there), I followed the adage ‘Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue’. The Happy Anniversary Stamp is old, the awesome Links Fri-Die from CASual Fridays Stamps is new, the heart stamp is ‘borrowed’ from Waffle Flower’s awesome Notions Stamp Set, and it’s pretty obvious to see what’s blue.

The die links just reminded me of a man and a woman when I placed them alongside one another, so I found myself stamping  little hearts into their ‘chests’, and unifying them with some blue and white twine.

Happy anniversary close up

As for card colour choice, I kept white for the sake of tradition (wink!), then decided that nothing shouts ‘homespun domesticity’ like kraft!

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Whisper White; Crumb Cake (Stampin Up!)

Ink: Night of Navy; Versa-Mark (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamps: Sentiment – ‘Occasions’ Minis (Kaisercraft); heart – ‘Notions’ (Waffle Flower)

Accessories: Big Shot; Casual Fri-Dies-Links (CASual Fridays); Heat tool; White embossing powder (Stampin’ Up!)

Embellishments: Twine (American Crafts-Primio); Crystal Effects (Stampin’ Up!)

 

7 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary!

  1. Abstract art! I love the idea of the square as the man (not so much the round woman, that hits a little too close to home! lol!) So glad you joined us at CASology with this clever card this week!

  2. Very cute card Hazel, I like your interpretation of the cue word, thank you for visiting and leaving a comment on my blog 🙂

  3. This is an awesome graphic design, Hazel!! Congratulations on the HM honor from CASology!! Hugs, Darnell

  4. Sorry late reply….busy at my home and work 🙂

    Your card has a very simple and adorable detail..congrat on your HM you deserve it Hazel….love the colors too…

    Thanks for tell me a nice words on my Blog…hugs, Monika

Leave a Reply

